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Regulation 993(a) - No establishment or school shall have on the premises or use any 
razor-edged tool for the purpose of removing calluses or other similar procedures.  

 
Examples of tools that are not allowed on the premises: 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Establishment Owners: Illegal tools found in an establishment can subject you up to a $500.00 fine.  
 
Individual Operators: Any operator present at the time of inspection that is found with an illegal tool at their 
workstation or is found using an illegal tool can also be subject up to a $500.00 fine.  
 
NOTE: The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology does not endorse or approve any specific tools. The tools 
shown above do not meet the current requirements for use by any Board licensees or in any Board licensed 
establishment in the state of California.  
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Regulation 993(b) - No establishment or school shall have on the premises any needle-
like tool used for the purpose of extracting skin blemishes and other similar procedures. 
 
Examples of tools not allowed on the premises:  

 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
NOTE: Although the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology does not endorse or 
approve any specific tools or  instruments, the tools and instruments shown above 
do not meet the current requirements for use by any Board licensees or in any 
Board licensed establishment in the state of California.  
 
 
 
Establishment Owners: Illegal tools found in an establishment can subject you up to a $500.00 fine.  
 
Individual Operators: Any operator present at the time of inspection that is found with an illegal tool at their 
workstation or is found using an illegal tool can also be subject up to a $500.00 fine.  
 
NOTE: The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology does not endorse or approve any specific tools. The tools 
shown above do not meet the current requirements for use by any Board licensees or in any Board licensed 
establishment in the state of California.  
   

 

                
 
 
 

 


