Stylist Article - June 2013

Four new members have been appointed to the California State Board of Barbering and
Cosmetology by Gov. Jerry Brown.

The new Board members are:

e Andrew Drabkin of Sacramento. Mr. Drabkin, who was appointed as a public member of
the Board, has been information technology director for the California Democratic Party
since 2010. He previously was the party’s deputy IT director from 2006 to 2010. He was
staff for Phil Giarrizzo Campaign Consulting from 1999 to 2006.

e April Moreno of Upland. Ms. Moreno, who was appointed as a public member of the
Board, has been a government relations analyst at the Los Angeles County Department
of Public Health since 2011. She was a child support officer for the Los Angeles County
Department of Child Support Services from 2008 to 2011. Ms. Moreno earned a Master
of Public Administration degree from California State University, Northridge.

e Dr. Kari Williams of Los Angeles. Dr. Williams, who was appointed as one of the Board’s
industry members, has been the owner of the Mahogany Hair Revolution Salon and
Trichology Clinic since 2007. She was a hair stylist at Eclectic Salon from 2006 to 2007.
She holds a Doctorate in trichology from the Elan Center for Trichology.

e Mary Lou Amaro of Clovis. Ms. Amaro was appointed to the Board as an industry
member. Ms. Amaro has been the owner of Mary Lou's Beauty Shop since 1977. She
served as president of the California Cosmetology Association from 2010 to 2012.

The new members, whose terms expire on January 1, 2017, join Board President and industry
member Joseph Federico; Wen Ling Cheng, Vice President of the Board and a public member;
public members Bobbie Anderson and Richard Hedges; and Christie Truc Tran, an industry
member.

Under the Business and Professions Code, the Governor appoints three of the public members
and the four industry members on the nine-member Board. The Senate Committee on Rules
and the Speaker of the Assembly each appoint one public member.

INSPECTOR’S CORNER: The Board is mandated by law to inspect both establishments and
schools under Section 7313 of the Business and Professions Code. If violations of the Board'’s
regulations are found, the establishment or school will be issued a notice of violation and may
be cited and fined. In cases where significant health and safety violations exist, an
establishment’s license may be immediately suspended.

Licensees are required by law to give access to all areas of the establishment or school, even to
locked drawers and closets. Interfering with an inspection or denying access to the inspector
can lead to a fine of $250 for a first offense, up to $750 for a third.



