## State of California Office of Administrative Law

In re:

**Board of Barbering and Cosmetology** 

Regulatory Action:

Title 16, California Code of Regulations

Amend section: 950.10 NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF REGULATORY ACTION

Government Code Section 11349.3

OAL Matter Number: 2023-0629-01

OAL Matter Type: Regular (S)

This rulemaking action by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology ("Board") establishes how and when technical and practical instruction hours earned by successfully completing courses of study in one Board program may be credited towards a different Board program.

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.3 of the Government Code. This regulatory action becomes effective on 10/1/2023.

Date: August 10, 2023

> Eric Partington Senior Attorney

For:

Kenneth J. Pogue

Director

Original: Kristy Underwood, Executive

Officer

Copy:

Jennifer Huetter

# REGULAR

STATE OF CALIFORNIA-OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW For use by Secretary of State only NOTICE PUBLICATION/REGULATIONS SUBMISSION 2 GUL 208 ACUO GOS 9 - 0 LEGERGENCY NUMBER NOTICE FILE NUMBER OAL FILE 2022-1101-07 NUMBERS ENDORSED - FILED For use by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only in the office of the Secretary of State of the State of California RECEIVED DATE PUBLICATION DATE AUG 1 0 2023 OFFICE OF ADMIN. LAW 2023 JUN 29 2-2:24 NOV 01 '22 1. (2 PM NOV 11'22 Office of Administrative Law REGULATIONS AGENCY WITH RULEMAKING AUTHORITY AGENCY FILE NUMBER (If IIIV) Board of Barbering and Cosmetology A. PUBLICATION OF NOTICE (Complete for publication in Notice Register) 1. SUBJECT OF NOTICE TITLE(S) FIRST SECTION AFFECTED 2 REQUESTED PUBLICATION DATE 16 950.10 Transfer of Credit November 11, 2022 3. NOTICE TYPE 4. AGENCY CONTACT PERSON TELEPHONE NUMBER FAX NUMBER (Optional) Notice to Proposed Re plate Action Samuel Swafford (279) 278-5121 (916) 928-6810 Other Action Uner NOTICE REGISTER NUMBER PUBLICATION DATE OAL USE Approved as Disapproved 11/11/22 2022, 45-2 ONLY Sulvnilled Mindrawn B. SUBMISSION OF REGULATIONS (Complete when submitting regulations) 1b. ALL PRÉVIOUS RELATED OAL REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER(S) to SUBJECT OF REGULATION(S) Transfer of Credit 2 SPECIFY CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS TITLE(S) AND SECTION(S) (including title 25, if toxics related) SECTION(S) AFFECTED (List all section number(s) AMEND PER AGENCY individually. Attach 950.10 additional sheet if needed.) REQUEST REPEAL TITLE(S) 16 3 TYPE OF FILING Regular Rulemaking (Gov. Code §11346) Cortificate of Compliance: The agency officer named **Emergency Readopt** Changes Without below certifies that this agency complied with the (Gov. Code, §11346.1(h)) Regulatory Effect (Cal. provisions of Gov. Code §§11346.2-11347.3 either Code Regs., title 1, §100) Resubmittal of disapproved before the emergency regulation was adopted or or withdrawn nonemergency within the time period required by alsiute. filing (Gov. Code §§11349.3, File & Pont 11349.4) Resubmittal of disapproved or withdrawn Emergency (Gov. Code. Other (Specify) emergency filing (Gov. Code, §11346,1) §11346.1(b)) 4. ALL BEGINNING AND ENDING DATES OF AVAILABILITY OF MODIFIED REGULATIONS AND/OR MATERIAL ADDED TO THE RULEMAKING FILE (COL. Code Regs. #16-1, \$44 and Gov. Code \$11347.1) 5. EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES (Gov. Code, §§ 11343 4, 11346.1(d), Cal. Code Regs., fille 1, §100.) Effective January 1, April 1, July 1, or October 1 (Gov. Code §11343.4(a)) Effective on filing with § 100 Changes Without Regulatory Effect Effective other Secretary of State (Specify) CHECK IF THESE REGULATIONS REQUIRE NOTICE TO, OR REVIEW, CONSULTATION, APPROVAL OR CONCURRENCE BY, ANOTHER AGENCY OR ENTITY Department of Finance (Form STD, 399) (SAM §6660) Fair Political Practices Commission State Fire Marshel <u>Kimberly Kirchmeyer, Director, Department of Consumer Affairs</u> Other (Specify) 7. CONTACT PERSON Jennifer Huetter Jennifer.Huetter@dca.ca.gov TELEPHONE NUMBER FAX NUMBER (Optional) 916-575-7281 279-278-5089 I certify that the attached copy of the regulation(s) is a true and correct copy For use by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only of the regulation(s) Identified on this form, that the information specified on this form ENDORSED APPROVED is true and correct, and that I am the head of the agency taking this action, or a designee of the head of the agency, and am authorized to make this certification. AUG 1 0 2023 SIGNATURE OF AGENCY HEAD OR DESIGNEE Little adapted May 23, 2023 TYPED NAME AND TITLE OF SIGNATORY Office of Administrative Law Kristy Underwood, Executive Officer, Board of Barbering and Cosmetology

### BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY Division 9, Title 16, of the California Code of Regulations

#### ORDER OF ADOPTION

Amend Section 950.10, Title 16, California Code of Regulations, as follows:

#### § 950.10. Credit for Special License and Transfer of Training Transfer of Credit.

- (a) A student transferring from one course of study to another, or a holder of a special license (e.g., manicurist or esthetician) who enrolls in a general course of study (e.g., cosmetologist), shall receive credit for total clock hours completed and credit for and a balance of the minimum hours of technical instruction and the minimum practical operations required in each applicable subject as follows:
- (1) Total Clock Hours Credit.
- (A) Cosmetologist course to esthetician course. A student transferring from the cosmetologist course to the esthetician course shall receive a credit of 35 percent of the total clock hours carned while enrolled in the cosmetologist course.
- (B) Cosmetologist course to manicurist course. A student transferring from the cosmetologist course to the manicurist course shall receive a credit of 20 percent of the total clock hours earned while enrolled in the cosmetologist course.
- (C) Esthetician course to cosmetologist course. A student transferring from the esthetician course to the cosmetologist course shall receive a credit of 65 percent of the total clock hours earned while enrolled in the esthetician course. A holder of a esthetician license enrolling in the cosmetologist course shall receive a credit of 65 percent of the total clock hours required for the esthetician course.
- (D) Manicurist course to cosmetologist course. A student transferring from the manicurist course to the cosmetologist course shall receive a credit of 70 percent of the total clock hours earned while enrolled in the manicurist course. A holder of a manicurist license enrolling in the cosmetologist course shall receive a credit of 70 percent of the total clock hours required for the manicurist course.
- (2) Credit and balance for the minimum hours of technical instruction and minimum practical operations required. A student transferring from one course of study to another, or a holder of a special license who enrolls in a general course of study, shall receive a credit and balance for the minimum hours of technical instruction and minimum practical operations required by subtracting the number of hours and operations earned by the student or licensee while enrolled in the prior course from the minimum hours of technical instruction and minimum practical operations required for the new course in each applicable subject. If the student has earned more hours or operations in the prior course than are required in a specific subject of the new course, then that student's balance of hours and operations required in that subject shall be zero.
- (b) Credit for a special course shall not be given to a student in the cosmetologist course until completion of the number of hours of instruction and training in a school of cosmetology which, when added to the number of hours for which the student is entitled

to credit for the special course, will equal the minimum number of hours required for completion of the cosmetologist course.

- (c) Effective until January 1, 2009, training received as an apprentice may be credited toward a course of training in a school. The maximum amount of hours that can be transferred from an apprenticeship program to a course of training in school shall not exceed 800 hours as reasonably determined by the school to which the apprentice is transferring and shall not exceed 50% credit for each hour earned as an apprentice. After January 1, 2009, training received as an apprentice shall not be credited toward a course of training in a school.
- (d) Training received in a school shall not be credited toward training in an apprenticeship program.
- (a) A student changing from one program of instruction to another shall receive credit for prior hours of technical and practical instruction earned in another program ("instruction hours") on an hour-for-hour basis if the following requirements are met:
  - (1) The prior instruction hours earned by the student are identical, which means instruction is of the same duration and covers the same content as that being offered by the new program; and
  - (2) Credit for the instruction hours of the prior program is granted in accordance with the requirements of this section.
- (b) Credit shall be granted to a student who is a cosmetologist licensee or who earned instruction hours as part of a cosmetology program of instruction as follows:
  - (1) For enrollment in a new barbering program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(1) of the Business and Professions Code ("Code").
    - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(2) of the Code.
    - (C) 200 instruction hours in chemical hair services course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(3) of the Code.
    - (D) 200 instruction hours in hairstyling services course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(4) of the Code.
  - (2) For enrollment in a new skin care program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7364(b)(1) of the Code.

- (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7364(b)(2) of the Code.
- (C) 150 instruction hours in skin care services course content as defined in section 7364(b)(3) of the Code.
- (D) 50 instruction hours in hair removal and lash and brow beautification course content as defined in section 7364(b)(4) of the Code.
- (3) For enrollment in a new nail care program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7365(b)(1) of the Code.
  - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7365(b)(2) of the Code.
  - (C) 100 instruction hours in manicure and pedicure course content as defined in section 7365(b)(3) of the Code.
- (4) For enrollment in a new hairstyling program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7363(b)(1) of the Code.
  - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7363(b)(2) of the Code.
  - (C) 200 instruction hours in hairstyling services course content as defined in section 7363(b)(3) of the Code.
- (5) For enrollment in a new electrolysis program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7366(b)(1) of the Code.
  - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7366(b)(2) of the Code.
- (c) Credit shall be granted to a student who is a barber licensee or who earned instruction hours as part of a barbering program of instruction as follows:
  - (1) For enrollment in a new cosmetology program, up to:

- (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(1) of the Code.
- (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(2) of the Code.
- (C) 200 instruction hours in chemical hair services course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(3) of the Code.
- (D) 200 instruction hours in hairstyling services course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(4) of the Code.
- (2) For enrollment in a new skin care program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7364(b)(1) of the Code.
  - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7364(b)(2) of the Code.
- (3) For enrollment in a new nail care program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7365(b)(1) of the Code.
  - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7365(b)(2) of the Code.
- (4) For enrollment in a new hairstyling program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7363(b)(1) of the Code.
  - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7363(b)(2) of the Code.
  - (C) 200 instruction hours in hairstyling services course content as defined in section 7363(b)(3) of the Code.
- (5) For enrollment in a new electrolysis program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7366(b)(1) of the Code.

- (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7366(b)(2) of the Code.
- (d) Credit shall be granted to a student who is an esthetician licensee or who earned instruction hours as part of a skin care program of instruction as follows:
  - (1) For enrollment in a new cosmetology program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(1) of the Code.
    - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(2) of the Code.
    - (C) 150 instruction hours in skin care services course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(5) of the Code.
    - (D) 50 hours in hair removal and lash and brow beautification course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(6) of the Code.
  - (2) For enrollment in a new barbering program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(1) of the Code.
    - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(2) of the Code.
  - (3) For enrollment in a new nail care program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7365(b)(1) of the Code.
    - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7365(b)(2) of the Code.
  - (4) For enrollment in a new hairstyling program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7363(b)(1) of the Code.
    - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7363(b)(2) of the Code.

- (5) For enrollment in a new electrolysis program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7366(b)(1) of the Code.
  - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7366(b)(2) of the Code.
- (e) Credit shall be granted to a student who is a manicurist licensee or who earned instruction hours as part of a nail care program of instruction as follows:
  - (1) For enrollment in a new cosmetology program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(1) of the Code.
    - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(2) of the Code.
    - (C) 100 instruction hours in manicure and pedicure course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(7) of the Code.
  - (2) For enrollment in a new barbering program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(1) of the Code.
    - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(2) of the Code.
  - (3) For enrollment in a new skin care program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7364(b)(1) of the Code.
    - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7364(b)(2) of the Code.
  - (4) For enrollment in a new hairstyling program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7363(b)(1) of the Code.

- (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7363(b)(2) of the Code.
- (5) For enrollment in a new electrolysis program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7366(b)(1) of the Code.
  - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7366(b)(2) of the Code.
- (f) Credit shall be granted to a student who is a hairstylist licensee or who earned instruction hours as part of a hairstyling program of instruction as follows:
  - (1) For enrollment in a new cosmetology program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(1) of the Code.
    - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(2) of the Code.
    - (C) 200 instruction hours in hairstyling services course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(4) of the Code.
  - (2) For enrollment in a new barbering program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(1) of the Code.
    - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(2) of the Code.
    - (C) 200 instruction hours in hairstyling services course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(4) of the Code.
  - (3) For enrollment in a new nail care program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7365(b)(1).
    - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7365(b)(2).

- (4) For enrollment in a new skin care program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7364(b)(1) of the Code.
  - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7364(b)(2) of the Code.
- (5) For enrollment in a new electrolysis program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7366(b)(1) of the Code.
  - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7366(b)(2) of the Code.
- (g) Credit shall be granted to a student who is an electrologist licensee or who earned instruction hours as part of an electrolysis program of instruction as follows:
  - (1) For enrollment in a new cosmetology program, up to:
    - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(1) of the Code.
    - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(2) of the Code.
    - (2) For enrollment in a new barbering program, up to:
      - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(1) of the Code.
      - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7362.5(b)(2) of the Code.
    - (3) For enrollment in a new skin care program, up to:
      - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7364(b)(1) of the Code.

- (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7364(b)(2) of the Code.
- (4) For enrollment in a new hairstyling program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7363(b)(1) of the Code.
  - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7363(b)(2) of the Code.
- (5) For enrollment in a new nail care program, up to:
  - (A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in section 7365(b)(1) of the Code.
  - (B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as defined in section 7365(b)(2) of the Code.
- (h) In accordance with section 7367 of the Code, for any hours of practical and technical instruction in courses that are earned by a student in excess of the minimum technical curriculum content hours prescribed by sections 7362.5, 7363, 7364, 7365 and 7366 of the Code, the student shall receive credit for those prior hours earned that are required for licensure as a barber, cosmetologist, hairstylist, esthetician, manicurist, or electrologist and are identical as defined in subsection (a)(1).
- (i) For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply:
  - (1) "Changing from one program of instruction to another" means transferring from one program of instruction to another or, as a licensee, enrolling in a new program of instruction for a different license type issued by the Board.
  - (2) "Earned" means successfully completed the hours or program with a passing grade.

Note: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316, 7362.5, 7363, 7364, 7365, 7366 and 7367, Business and Professions Code.