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BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY 
 

Division 9, Title 16, of the California Code of Regulations. 
 

SPECIFIC LANGUAGE 

 
LEGEND 

 
Underlined Indicates proposed amendments or additions to the existing 

regulation. 
 
Strikeout  Indicates proposed deletions to the existing regulation. 
 

 
•  Repeal Section 950.10, Title 16, California Code of Regulations, as follows: 

§ 950.10. Credit for Special License and Transfer of Training. 
(a) A student transferring from one course of study to another, or a holder of a special 
license (e.g., manicurist or esthetician) who enrolls in a general course of study (e.g., 
cosmetologist), shall receive credit for total clock hours completed and credit for and a 
balance of the minimum hours of technical instruction and the minimum practical 
operations required in each applicable subject as follows: 
(1) Total Clock Hours Credit. 
(A) Cosmetologist course to esthetician course. A student transferring from the 
cosmetologist course to the esthetician course shall receive a credit of 35 percent of the 
total clock hours earned while enrolled in the cosmetologist course. 
(B) Cosmetologist course to manicurist course. A student transferring from the 
cosmetologist course to the manicurist course shall receive a credit of 20 percent of the 
total clock hours earned while enrolled in the cosmetologist course. 
(C) Esthetician course to cosmetologist course. A student transferring from the 
esthetician course to the cosmetologist course shall receive a credit of 65 percent of the 
total clock hours earned while enrolled in the esthetician course. A holder of a 
esthetician license enrolling in the cosmetologist course shall receive a credit of 65 
percent of the total clock hours required for the esthetician course. 
(D) Manicurist course to cosmetologist course. A student transferring from the 
manicurist course to the cosmetologist course shall receive a credit of 70 percent of the 
total clock hours earned while enrolled in the manicurist course. A holder of a manicurist 
license enrolling in the cosmetologist course shall receive a credit of 70 percent of the 
total clock hours required for the manicurist course. 
(2) Credit and balance for the minimum hours of technical instruction and minimum 
practical operations required. A student transferring from one course of study to 
another, or a holder of a special license who enrolls in a general course of study, shall 
receive a credit and balance for the minimum hours of technical instruction and 
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minimum practical operations required by subtracting the number of hours and 
operations earned by the student or licensee while enrolled in the prior course from the 
minimum hours of technical instruction and minimum practical operations required for 
the new course in each applicable subject. If the student has earned more hours or 
operations in the prior course than are required in a specific subject of the new course, 
then that student's balance of hours and operations required in that subject shall be 
zero. 
(b) Credit for a special course shall not be given to a student in the cosmetologist 
course until completion of the number of hours of instruction and training in a school of 
cosmetology which, when added to the number of hours for which the student is entitled 
to credit for the special course, will equal the minimum number of hours required for 
completion of the cosmetologist course. 
(c) Effective until January 1, 2009, training received as an apprentice may be credited 
toward a course of training in a school. The maximum amount of hours that can be 
transferred from an apprenticeship program to a course of training in school shall not 
exceed 800 hours as reasonably determined by the school to which the apprentice is 
transferring and shall not exceed 50% credit for each hour earned as an apprentice. 
After January 1, 2009, training received as an apprentice shall not be credited toward a 
course of training in a school. 
(d) Training received in a school shall not be credited toward training in an 
apprenticeship program. 
Note: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Section 7367, Business and Professions Code. 
 

• Adopt Section 950.10, Title 16, California Code of Regulations and title, as 
follows: 

§ 950.10. Transfer of Credit 
(a)  A student changing from one program of instruction to another shall receive credit 

for prior hours of technical and practical instruction earned in another program 
(“instruction hours”) on an hour-for-hour basis if the following requirements are met: 
 

(1) The prior instruction hours earned by the student are identical, which means 
instruction is of the same duration and covers the same content as that being 
offered by the new program; and, 

 
(2) Credit for the instruction hours of the prior program is granted in accordance 
with the requirements of this section.  

 
(b)  Credit shall be granted to a student who is a cosmetologist licensee or who earned 

instruction hours as part of a cosmetology program of instruction as follows: 
 

(1) For enrollment in a new barbering program, up to: 
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(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(b)(1) of the Business and Professions Code (“Code”); 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7362.5(b)(2) of the Code; 
 
(C) 200 instruction hours in chemical hair services course content as defined 
in section 7362.5(b)(3) of the Code; and 
 
(D) 200 instruction hours in hairstyling services course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(b)(4) of the Code. 

 
(2) For enrollment in a new skin care program, up to: 

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7364(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7364(b)(2) of the Code. 
 
(C) 150 instruction hours in skin care services course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(c)(5) of the Code. 
 
(D) 50 instruction hours in hair removal and lash and brow beautification 
course content as defined in section 7362.5(c)(6) of the Code.  

 
(3) For enrollment in a new nail care program, up to:  

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7365(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7365(b)(2) of the Code. 
 
(C) 100 instruction hours in manicure and pedicure course content as defined 
in section 7362.5(c)(7) of the Code. 
 

(4) For enrollment in a new hairstyling program, up to: 
 

(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7363(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7363(b)(2) of the Code. 
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(C) 200 instruction hours in hair styling course content as defined in section 
7363(b)(3) of the Code. 
 

(5) For enrollment in a new electrolysis program, up to: 
 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7366(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7366(b)(2) of the Code. 
 

(c)  Credit shall be granted to a student who is a barber licensee or who earned 
instruction hours as part of a barbering program of instruction as follows:   

 
(1) For enrollment in a new cosmetology program, up to: 

(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(c)(1) of the Code. 

 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7362.5(c)(2) of the Code.  
 
(C) 200 instruction hours in chemical hair services course content as defined 
in section 7362.5(c)(3) of the Code.  
 
(D) 200 instruction hours in hairstyling services course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(c)(4) of the Code. 

 
(2) For enrollment in a new skin care program, up to: 

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section and 7364(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7364(b)(2) of the Code. 

 
(3) For enrollment in a new nail care program, up to:  

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7365(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7365(b)(2) of the Code. 
 

(4) For enrollment in a new hairstyling program, up to: 
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(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7363(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7363(b)(2) of the Code. 
 
(C) 200 instruction hours in hair styling course content as defined in section 
7363(b)(3) of the Code. 

 
(5) For enrollment in a new electrolysis program, up to: 

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7366(b)(1) of the Code. 

 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7366(b)(2) of the Code. 

 

(d)  Credit shall be granted to a student who is an esthetician licensee or who earned 
instruction hours as part of a skin care program of instruction as follows: 

 
(1) For enrollment in a new cosmetology program, up to: 

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(c)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in sections 7362.5(c)(2) of the Code. 
 
(C) 150 instruction hours in skin care services course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(c)(5) of the Code. 
 
(D) 50 hours in hair removal and lash and brow beautification course content 
as defined in section 7362.5(c)(6) of the Code.  

 
(2) For enrollment in a new barbering program, up to: 
 

(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
sections 7362.5(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7362.5(b)(2) of the Code. 
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(3) For enrollment in a new nail care program, up to:  
 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7365(b)(1). 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7365(b)(2).  
 

(4) For enrollment in a new hairstyling program, up to: 
 

(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in   
section 7363(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7363(b)(2) of the Code. 
 

(5) For enrollment in a new electrolysis program, up to: 
 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7366(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7366(b)(2) of the Code. 

 

(e)  Credit shall be granted to a student who is a manicurist licensee or who earned 
instruction hours as part of a nail care program of instruction as follows:   

 
(1) For enrollment in a new cosmetology program, up to: 

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(c)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7362.5(c)(2) of the Code. 
 
(C) 100 instruction hours in manicure and pedicure course content as defined 
in section 7362.5(c)(7) of the Code.  

 
(2) For enrollment in a new barbering program, up to: 

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(b)(1) of the Code. 
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(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7362.5(b)(2) of the Code. 

 
(3) For enrollment in a new skin care program, up to:  

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7364(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7364(b)(2) of the Code. 
 

(4) For enrollment in a new hairstyling program, up to: 
 

(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in   
section 7363(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7363(b)(2) of the Code. 
 

(5) For enrollment in a new electrolysis program, up to: 
 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7366(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7366(b)(2) of the Code. 
 

(f)  Credit shall be granted to a student who is a hairstyling licensee or who earned 
instruction hours as part of a hairstyling program of instruction as follows:  
 

(1) For enrollment in a new cosmetology program, up to: 
 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(c)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in sections 7362.5(c)(2) of the Code. 
 
(C) 200 instruction hours in hairstyling services course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(c)(4) of the Code. 
 

(2) For enrollment in a new barbering program, up to: 
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(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
sections 7362.5(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7362.5(b)(2) of the Code. 
 
(C) 200 instruction hours in hairstyling services course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(b)(4) of the Code. 

 
(3) For enrollment in a new nail care program, up to:  

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7365(b)(1). 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7365(b)(2). 

 
(4) For enrollment in a new skin care program, up to:  

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7364(b)(1) of the Code. 
 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7364(b)(2) of the Code. 
 

(5) For enrollment in a new electrolysis program, up to: 
 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7366(b)(1) of the Code. 

 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7366(b)(2) of the Code. 

  
(g)  Credit shall be granted to a student who is an electrologist licensee or who earned 

instruction hours as part of an electrolysis program of instruction as follows:  
 
(1) For enrollment in a new cosmetology program, up to: 

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(c)(1) of the Code. 

 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7362.5(c)(2) of the Code. 
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(2) For enrollment in a new barbering program, up to: 

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7362.5(b)(1) of the Code. 

 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7362.5(b)(2) of the Code. 

 
(3) For enrollment in a new skin care program, up to:  

 
(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7364(b)(1) of the Code. 

 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7364(b)(2) of the Code. 

 
(4) For enrollment in a new hairstyling program, up to: 
 

(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in   
section 7363(b)(1) of the Code. 

 
(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7363(b)(2) of the Code. 

 
(5) For enrollment in a new nail care program, up to: 

 

(A) 100 instruction hours in health and safety course content as defined in 
section 7365(b)(1) of the Code. 
 

(B) 100 instruction hours in disinfection and sanitation course content as 
defined in section 7365(b)(2) of the Code. 

 
(h)  In accordance with Section 7367 of the Code, for any hours of practical and 

technical instruction in courses that are earned by a student in excess of the 
minimum technical curriculum content hours prescribed by Sections 7362.5, 
7363, 7364, 7365 and 7366 of the Code, a student shall receive credit for those 
prior hours earned that are required for licensure as a barber, cosmetologist, 
hairstylist, esthetician, manicurist or electrologist and are identical as defined in 
subsection (a)(1). 
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(i)  For the purposes of this section, the following definitions apply: 
 
(1) “Changing from one program of instruction to another” means: transferring 
from one program of instruction to another, or a licensee enrolling in a new 
program of instruction for a different license type issued by the Board. 

 
(2) “Earned” means successfully completed the hours or program with a passing 
grade. 

 
Note: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Section 7316, 7362.5, 7363, 7364, 7365, 7366 and 7367, Business and Professions 
Code. 
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