Article 3. Apprenticeship

Title 16, Division 9, California Code of Regulations

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology

913. Approval of Apprentice Training Programs

(a) A joint apprenticeship committee, unilateral management or labor apprenticeship committee, or an individual employer wishing to conduct apprenticeships in barbering, cosmetology, electrology, skin care, or nail care shall be known as apprenticeship program sponsors.

(b) An applicant seeking board approval as an apprenticeship program sponsor to conduct apprenticeships in barbering, cosmetology, skin care, nail care, or electrology shall:

(1) Submit a written request for board approval of its apprenticeship program and identify the subject matter of the apprenticeship. The request for apprenticeship approval shall be signed by the individual employer or, where the program sponsor is not an individual, by a responsible officer of the organization.

(2) Submit proof that the program sponsor is approved by the California Apprenticeship Council to offer the apprenticeship.

(3) Submit a detailed outline of the proposed training program which demonstrates compliance with the apprenticeship regulations contained in this article.

(4) Submit a copy of the agreement between the program sponsor and the apprentice (hereafter known as the "apprenticeship agreement"). The apprenticeship agreement shall comply with the provisions of the Shelley-Maloney Apprenticeship Labor Standards Act of 1939 (Labor Code section 3070 et seq.) and the regulations adopted pursuant thereto.

(c) An apprenticeship program sponsor shall notify the board within 10 days of any changes to the information filed with the board in accordance with subsection (b) of this section for board approval.

(d) The board shall inform every person applying for approval to act as an apprenticeship program sponsor in writing, within ten (10) days of receipt of their request for approval whether the application is complete or deficient and what specific information is required.

(1) When the information for a deficient application is returned to the board, the board shall decide within five (5) days of receipt whether the application is complete.

(2) If the application remains deficient, the board shall inform the applicant in writing, within five (5) days of receipt, of what specific information is required.

(e) The board shall notify the applicant, in writing, within thirty-five (35) days after the completed application has been received, whether the applicant meets the requirements for approval.

(f) The minimum, median and maximum times for processing a request for approval of an apprentice training program, from the time of receipt of the application until the Board of Barber Examiners decided to issue the approval based upon actual performance of the board during the two years preceding the proposal of this section, were as follows:

(1) Minimum: 1 day
(2) Median: 15 days
(3) Maximum: 48 days

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code and Section 15376, Government Code. Reference: Section 7333, Business and Professions Code; Sections 3070 and 3078, Labor Code and Section 15376, Government Code.

913.1 Withdrawal of Approval: Apprenticeship Program Sponsor

(a) The board may withdraw or otherwise limit its approval of an apprenticeship program sponsor who is not conducting its apprenticeship program in compliance with the provisions of the laws and regulations of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act (Business and Professions Code sections 7301 et seq.)

(b) (1) A proceeding to withdraw or limit the board's approval of an apprenticeship program sponsor shall be initiated by serving the apprenticeship program sponsor with a notice to show cause. The notice to show cause shall be in writing, shall describe with particularity the nature of the violations, including specific reference to the provisions of law or regulations determined to be violated, and shall contain a proposed order to withdraw or limit the board's approval of the apprenticeship program sponsor.

(2) Where appropriate, a notice to show cause may contain an order of abatement fixing a reasonable time for the abatement of the violations. Where a program sponsor complies with the order of abatement within the time specified, the board shall withdraw its notice to show cause.

(3) In fixing the disciplinary order or order of abatement for a notice to show cause, the board shall give due consideration to the appropriateness of the order with respect to such factors as the gravity of the violations, its impact upon the apprentices participating in the apprenticeship program sponsor's apprenticeship program, its impact on the public, the good faith of the apprenticeship program sponsor, and the history of previous violations.

(c) A notice to show cause shall inform the apprenticeship program sponsor that if it desires a hearing to contest any portion of the notice to show cause, a hearing shall be requested by written notice to the board's executive officer within 30 days of the date of service of the notice to show cause. If a hearing is not requested pursuant to this subsection, the order contained in the notice to show cause shall go into effect on the date specified in the notice to show cause.

(d) A hearing to contest a notice to show cause shall be conducted within 60 days of the board's receipt of the program sponsor's written request for a hearing. Such a hearing shall be before a committee selected by the board. At the conclusion of the hearing, the committee shall prepare or have prepared a written decision of its findings, determinations and order. Such a decision shall be mailed to the program sponsor within 45 days after the conclusion of the hearing.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions. Reference: Section 7333, Business and Professions Code

914. Filing of Apprenticeship Application; Processing Time

(a) A prospective apprentice must file with the board an application for apprenticeship. Application shall be made on Form 35A-03, Application for Licensure as a Licensed Apprentice and for Approval of Trainers and Establishments, Revised 5/94.

(b) The board shall inform every person applying for licensure as an apprentice, in writing, within ten (10) days of receipt of the application (Form #35A-03, Application for Licensure as a Licensed Apprentice and for Approval of Trainers and Establishments, Revised 5/94), whether the application is complete or deficient and what specific information is required.

(1) When the information for a deficient application is returned to the board, the board shall decide within five (5) days of receipt whether the application is complete.

(2) If the application remains deficient, the board shall inform the applicant in writing, within five (5) days of receipt, of what specific information is required.

(c) The board shall notify the applicant, in writing, within thirty-five (35) days after the completed application has been received, whether the applicant meets the requirements for approval.

(d) The minimum, median and maximum times for processing an application for licensure as an apprentice, from the time of receipt of the application until the Board of Barber Examiners decided to issue the license based upon actual performance of the board during the two years preceding the proposal of this section, were as follows:

(1) Minimum: 1 day
(2) Median: 15 days
(3) Maximum: 48 days

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code and Section 15376, Government Code. Reference: Section 7334, Business and Professions Code; and Section 15376, Government Code.

914.1 Filing of Apprenticeship Application; Eligibility

If an applicant for an apprentice license has previously applied for and qualified for the licensing examination in a particular discipline, the applicant is ineligible to apply for the apprenticeship program in the same discipline.

Note: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7334, Business and Professions Code.

914.2 Filing of Apprenticeship Application; Re-enrollments

(a) The term of an apprenticeship is 2 years. If at any time the apprentice discontinues enrollment in the apprenticeship program, the Board shall be notified by the apprentice program sponsor within 10 days of the dis-enrollment.

(b) If after the 2-year period the apprentice has not completed the required 3,200 hours and related training, and the Board has been notified of the cancellation of enrollment, and the apprentice license has been surrendered to the Board as required by section 923 of this article, the applicant may re-enroll once to complete the program. After 2 enrollments into the apprenticeship program the applicant is no longer eligible to participate in the program.

Note: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7334, Business and Professions Code.

915. Related Training

(a) Every apprenticeship approved by the board shall consist of an on-the-job training component and a classroom component of related training.

(b) Related training for barber apprentices must provide a minimum of 216 hours of instruction over a two year period. A minimum of 144 of those hours shall cover the theory of barbering and a maximum of 72 hours may be elective training. The 72 hours of elective training may be conducted by classroom instruction or by a seminar or by demonstrations relating to barbering. The elective training shall be verified by course completion certificates or registration records.

(c) Related training for cosmetology, skin care, nail care or electrology apprenticeships must provide a minimum of 220 hours of classroom instruction over a two year period. These hours shall cover the following subjects:

(1) The related training for a cosmetology apprenticeship shall cover the following subjects as they relate to cosmetology: cosmetology chemistry, health and safety and hazardous substances, theory of electricity, disinfection and sanitation, bacteriology, anatomy and physiology, wet hair styling, thermal hair styling, permanent waving, chemical straightening, haircutting, hair coloring and bleaching, scalp and hair treatment, facials, eyebrow arching and hair removal, makeup, manicuring and pedicuring.

(2) The related training for skin care shall cover the following subjects as they relate to skin care: cosmetology chemistry, health and safety and hazardous substances, theory of electricity, disinfection and sanitation, bacteriology, anatomy, physiology, skin analysis and conditions, facials, eyebrow arching and hair removal, and make-up.

(3) The related training for nail care shall cover the following subjects as they relate to nail care: cosmetology chemistry, health and safety and hazardous substances, disinfection and sanitation, bacteriology, anatomy and physiology, water and oil manicures, including hand and arm massage, complete pedicure, and application of artificial nails.

(4) The related training for electrolysis shall cover the following subjects as they relate to electrolysis: health and safety and hazardous substances, disinfection and sanitation and sterilization, bacteriology, anatomy and physiology, electricity, electrolysis, thermolysis, and high frequency and galvanic currents.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7333 and 7334, Business and Professions Code.

916. Training Hours and Schedule

(a) The two years referred to in Section 7335 of the Business and Professions Code means a minimum of thirty-two hundred (3,200) hours of apprenticeship. Full-time apprenticeship means employment and training in an approved program for at least 32 hours per week. No more than eight and one-half hours credit will be allowed for any one work day nor will credit be allowed for more than five days in one week. The maximum training hours shall not exceed 42-1/2 hours per week.

(b) The two year apprenticeship program begins with the issuance of an apprenticeship license by the board.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7333, 7334, and 7345, Business and Professions Code.

917. Pre-apprentice Training

The minimum hours of pre-apprentice training referred to in Section 7334 of the Business and Professions Code shall be thirty-nine (39) hours of instruction in the laws and regulations of the board, basic patron protection and sanitation and disinfection procedures. An applicant for licensure as an apprentice shall complete the pre-apprenticeship training prior to being licensed as an apprentice.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7334, Business and Professions Code.

918. Apprentice Trainers

a) No licensee shall train an apprentice unless his or her license includes the scope of practice of the apprentice's license.

b) A licensee is allowed to have under his or her supervision a maximum of two apprentices at any given time.

Note: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7332 and 7336, Business and Professions Code.

919. Board Approved Trainers and Establishments

(a) A licensee who wishes to train an apprentice shall obtain board approval before employing or training an apprentice. An establishment wishing to train an apprentice in multiple location establishments which are under common ownership may request to participate in multiple location training. Common ownership includes corporate chains, individually owned multiple establishments, and franchise groups or partnerships. Application for approval of trainers and establishments shall be made on a form provided by the board (Form #35A-03, Application for Licensure as a Licensed Apprentice and for Approval of Trainers and Establishments, Rev. 5/94).

(1) Establishments participating in training an apprentice in multiple locations under common ownership shall provide as part of the application process, a list of the establishment names, locations, board issued license numbers, names of officers and or owners.

(b) Qualifications for apprentice trainer approval:

(1) Licensee shall possess a current, valid license issued by the board.

(2) Licensee shall have no disciplinary actions pending against him/her nor be on probation resulting from a board disciplinary action nor have completed probation resulting from past disciplinary action within the two year period immediately preceding his or her application to serve as an apprentice trainer.

(3) Licensee is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480.

(4)The licensee has no unpaid fine issued pursuant to Article 12 of Chapter 10 of Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code.

(c) No apprentice shall work or train in an establishment until it has been approved by the board. Application for establishment approval shall be made on the same form specified in subdivision (a).

(d) Qualifications for establishment approval are:

(1) Establishment shall possess a current, valid license issued by the board.

(2) Establishment shall have no disciplinary actions pending against it nor be on probation resulting from a board disciplinary action nor have completed probation resulting from past disciplinary action within the two year period immediately preceding its application for establishment approval.

(3) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480.

(4) The licensee has no unpaid fine issued pursuant to Article 12 of Chapter 10 of Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code.

(5) If the establishment is participating to train an apprentice in multiple locations under common ownership, there shall be an agreement between the establishments to employ the apprentice.

(e) The board shall inform every person applying for approval to act as an apprentice trainer or an apprentice establishment in writing, within ten (10) days of receipt of the application (Form #35A-03, Application for Licensure as a Licensed Apprentice and for Approval of Trainers and Establishments, Revised 5/94), whether the application is complete or deficient and what specific information is required.

(1) When the information for a deficient application is returned to the board, the board shall decide within five (5) days of receipt whether the application is complete.

(2) If the application remains deficient, the board shall inform the applicant in writing, within five (5) days of receipt, of what specific information is required.

(f) The board shall notify the applicant, in writing, within thirty-five (35) days after the completed application has been received, whether the applicant meets the requirements for approval.

(g) The minimum, median and maximum times for processing a request for approval, from the time of receipt of the application until the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology decided to issue the license based upon actual performance of the board during the two years preceding the proposal of this section, were as follows:

(1) Minimum: 1 day
(2) Median: 15 days
(3) Maximum: 48 days

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7332, 7333, 7334 and 7336, Business and Professions Code.

920. Record of Apprentice Training

The apprentice trainer shall present a copy of apprentice daily work records to the board or its representatives upon demand. These work records shall include the name of the apprentice employed, the dates the apprentice worked, the number of hours worked and the work processes performed on those dates, and the trainer's name.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7333 and 7334, Business and Professions Code.

921. Curriculum for Barber Apprentice Course

a) The curriculum for an apprentice enrolled in a barbering apprenticeship course shall consist of thirty-two hundred (3200) hours of technical instruction and practical training covering all practices of a barber pursuant to Section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act.

(b) For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person or on a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical operation. Technical instruction and practical training shall include the following hours:

(1) 2800 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Dressing

The required subjects of instruction in Hair Dressing shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

Hairstyling (95 hours of Technical Instruction and 450 Practical Operations):

The subject of Hairstyling shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, comb outs, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot curling irons and blower styling.

Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening (40 hours of Technical Instruction and 120 Practical Operations):

The subject of Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening shall Include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Hair analysis, acid and alkaline permanent waving, chemical straightening including the use of sodium hydroxide and other base solutions.

Hair Coloring and Bleaching (65 hours of Technical Instruction and 50 Practical Operations):

The subject of Hair Coloring and Bleaching shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures (also including, the use of semi-permanent, demi-permanent and temporary colors): Hair analysis, predisposition and strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, high and low lights, and the use of dye removers.

Hair Cutting (20 hour of Technical Instruction and 300 Practical Operations):

The subject of Hair Cutting shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Use of scissors, razor (shaper), electrical clippers/trimmers, and thinning (tapering) shears for wet and dry cutting.

(2) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Shaving

The required subjects of instruction in Shaving shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

Preparation and Performance (100 hours of Technical Instruction and 40 Practical Operations)

The subject of Preparation and Performance shall include, but is not limited to the following techniques and procedures: Preparing the client's hair for shaving, assessing the condition of the client's skin, performing shaving techniques, applying after-shave antiseptic following facial services, massaging the client's face and rolling cream massages.

(3) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety

The required subjects of instruction in Health and Safety shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction for each subject-matter as follows:

Laws and Regulations (20 hours of Technical Instruction)

The subjects of Laws and Regulations shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and Regulations.

Health and Safety Considerations (45 hours of Technical Instruction)

Health and Safety/hazardous substances including training in chemicals and health in establishments, material safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies, bacteriology and preventing communicable diseases including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B.

Disinfection and Sanitation (20 hours of Technical Instruction)

The subject of Disinfection and Sanitation shall include, but is not limited to the following techniques and procedures: Disinfection and sanitation including proper procedures to protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician, and proper disinfection procedures for equipment used in establishments.

Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire training period and must be performed before use of all instruments and equipment.

Anatomy and Physiology (15 hours of Technical Instruction)

The subjects of Anatomy and Physiology shall include, but is not limited to the following issues: Human Anatomy, Human Physiology.

(c) The Board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, client record-keeping, decorum, and basic tax information relating to booth renters, independent contractors, employees, and employers.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312 and 7334(f), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316(a), 7321.5(d) (2), 7362(b), 7362.5(a) and 7389, Business and Professions Code; and Section 3078, Labor Code.

921.1 Curriculum for Cosmetology Apprenticeship Course

(a) The curriculum for an apprentice enrolled in a cosmetology apprenticeship course shall consist of thirty-two hundred (3,200) hours of technical instruction and practical training covering all practices constituting the art of cosmetology pursuant to Section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act.

(b) For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person or on a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical operation. Technical instruction and practical training shall include the following hours:

(1) 2600 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Dressing

The required subjects of instruction in Hair Dressing shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

Hairstyling (95 hours of Technical Instruction and 450 Practical Operations):

The subject of Hairstyling shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, comb outs, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot curling irons, and blower styling.

Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening (40 hours of Technical Instruction and 210 Practical Operations):

The subject of Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening shall Include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Hair analysis, acid and alkaline permanent waving, chemical straightening including the use of sodium hydroxide and other base solutions.

Hair Coloring and Bleaching (65 hours Technical Instruction and 215 Practical Operations):

The subject of Hair Coloring and Bleaching shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures (also including, the use of semi-permanent, demi-permanent and temporary colors): Hair analysis, predisposition and strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, high and low lights, and the use of dye removers

Hair Cutting (20 hour Technical Instruction and 300 Practical Operations):

The subject of Hair Cutting shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Use of scissors, razor (shaper), electrical clippers/trimmers, and thinning (tapering) shears for wet and dry cutting.

(2) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety

The required subjects of instruction in Health and Safety shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction for each subject-matter as follows:

Laws and Regulations (20 Hours of Technical Instruction):

The subjects of Laws and Regulations shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and Regulations.

Health and Safety Considerations (45 Hours of Technical Instruction):

The subject of Health and Safety shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Cosmetology chemistry including the chemical composition and purpose of cosmetic, nail, hair and skin care preparations. Elementary chemical makeup, chemical skin peels, and chemical and physical changes of matter. Hazardous substances including training in chemicals and health in establishments, protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, ergonomics, theory of electricity in cosmetology, bacteriology, communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B, and staph and Material Safety Data Sheets.

Disinfection and Sanitation (20 Hours of Technical Instruction):

The subject of Disinfection and Sanitation shall include, but is not limited to the following techniques and procedures: Disinfection and sanitation including proper procedures to protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician. Proper disinfection procedures for equipment used in establishments.

Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire training period and must be performed before use of all instruments and equipment.

Anatomy and Physiology (15 Hours of Technical Instruction):

The subjects of Anatomy and Physiology shall include, but is not limited to the following issues: Human Anatomy, Human Physiology.

(3) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Esthetics

The required subjects of instruction in Esthetics shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

Manual, Electrical and Chemical Facials (25 Hours of Technical Instruction and 65 Practical Operations):

The subject of manual, electrical and chemical facials shall include, but is not limited to the following techniques and procedures: Manual Facials including cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and masks. Electrical Facials include the use of electrical modalities, dermal lights and electrical apparatus for facials and skin care purposes; however, machines capable of producing an electrical current shall not be used to stimulate so as to contract, or for the purpose of contracting, the muscles of the body or face. Chemical Facials include chemical skin peels, packs, masks and scrubs. Training shall emphasize that only the non-living, uppermost layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis, may be removed, and only for the purpose of beautification. All practical operations must be performed in accordance with Section 992 regarding skin exfoliation.

Eyebrow Beautification and Make-up (25 hours Technical Instruction and 55 Practical Operations):

The subject of Eyebrow Beautification shall include, but is not limited to the following issues: Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal, including the use of wax, tweezers, electric or manual, and depilatories for the removal of superfluous hair.

The subject of Makeup shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: skin analysis, complete and corrective makeup, lash and brow tinting, and the application of false eyelashes.

(4) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Manicuring and Pedicuring

The required subjects of instruction in Manicuring and Pedicuring shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operation for each subject-matter as follows:

Manicuring and Pedicuring (10 hours Technical Instruction and 34 Practical Operations):

The subject of Manicuring and Pedicuring shall include, but are not limited to, the following issues: Water and oil manicure, including nail analysis, and hand/foot and arm/ankle massage.

Artificial Nails and Wraps (25 hours Technical Instruction and 120 (nails) Practical Operations):

Artificial nails including acrylic: liquid and powder brush-ons, artificial nail tips, and nail wraps and repairs.

(c) The Board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service records.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312 and 7334(f), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316(b), 7321(d) (5), 7362(b), 7362.5(b) and 7389, Business and Professions Code; and Section 3078, Labor Code.

921.2. Curriculum for Electrolysis Apprenticeship Course

(a) The curriculum for an apprentice enrolled in an electrology apprenticeship course shall consist of thirty-two hundred (3200) hours of technical instruction and practical training covering all practices constituting the art of electrology pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act.

(b) For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical operation. Technical instruction and practical training shall include the following hours:

(1) 400 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical training in Electrolysis, Thermolysis, Blend/Dual Modality and Electricity

The required subjects of instruction in electrolysis, thermolysis, blend/dual modality and electricity shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

Electrolysis (45 hours of Technical Instruction and 120 Practical Operations)

The subject of Electrolysis shall include the study of epilation using single and multiple-needle insertion techniques, the use of galvanic current, skin reactions and anaphoresis and cataphoresis, and evaluating a client's health history for compatibility with electrolysis treatments.

Thermolysis (45 hours of Technical Instruction and 120 Practical Operations)

The subject of Thermolysis shall include the study of epilation using automatic and manual thermolysis equipment, insertion techniques, the use of high frequency current in both high and low intensities, skin reactions, and evaluating a client's health history for compatibility with thermolysis treatments.

Blend/Dual Modality (45 hours of Technical Instruction and 120 Practical Operations)

The subject of Blend/Dual Modality shall include the study of epilation using a combination of high frequency and galvanic currents, insertion techniques, skin reactions and anaphoresis and cataphoresis, and evaluating a client's health history for compatibility with Blend/Dual Modality treatments.

Electricity (15 hours of Technical Instruction)

The subject of Electricity shall include the nature of electrical current; principles of operating electrical devices; various safety precautions to be applied when operating electrical equipment, and proper maintenance of equipment.

(2) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety

The required subjects of instruction in Health and Safety shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction for each subject-matter as follows:

Laws and Regulations (20 Hours of Technical Instruction)

The subject of Laws and Regulations shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and Regulations.

Health and Safety Considerations (45 Hours of Technical Instruction)

The subject of Health and Safety shall include, but is not limited to, bacteriology, and HIV/AIDS, hepatitis, herpes, staphylococcal infections and other communicable diseases and their prevention, ergonomics, electrical safety, and material safety data sheets.

Sterilization (25 Hours of Technical Instruction)

The subject of Sterilization shall include, but is not limited to, the study of proper procedures and techniques for protecting the health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician, and sanitizing equipment used in establishments.

Sterilization and sanitation shall be emphasized throughout the entire training period and must be performed on all instruments and equipment before use. Sterilization times and dates should be monitored and recorded.

Anatomy and Physiology (25 Hours of Technical Instruction)

The subjects of Anatomy and Physiology shall include but is not limited to human anatomy and physiology, dermatology and the analysis of skin and hair, and the study of the circulatory, nervous, and endocrine systems.

(c) The Board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, consultation, pre- and post-treatment care, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, client service records, business skills, and basic tax information relating to independent contractors, employees and employers.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312 and 7334(f), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316(f), 7330(d)(3), 7362(b), 7366 and 7389, Business and Professions Code; and Section 3078, Labor Code.

922. Transfers

An apprentice may request from the program sponsor, a transfer from one approved related training class to another or from one approved establishment and trainer to another. The apprentice and the program sponsor shall notify the board within five days of any transfer.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7333 and 7336, Business and Professions Code.

923. Surrender of License

Apprentices who successfully pass the licensing examination or terminate their enrollment in the apprentice training program or whose apprentice enrollment expires shall return to the board any apprentice license and identification photograph previously issued to them.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7335, Business and Professions Code.

924. Completion of Apprentice Training Program

(a) Upon successful completion or discontinuance of an apprenticeship program, the apprenticeship program sponsor shall issue to the apprentice a certificate of apprenticeship completion or discontinuance. The certificate of apprenticeship completion or discontinuance shall be signed by the instructor, the apprentice and the apprenticeship program sponsor.

(b) The certificate of apprenticeship completion or discontinuance shall be a document prepared by the program sponsor that contains all of the following:

(1) Course title.
(2) The apprentice's name, address, telephone number and date of birth.
(3) The apprentice license number and social security number.
(4) The program sponsor name and sponsor code issued by the board.
(5) The total number of related training hours completed.
(6) The date the apprentice training was completed or discontinued.
(7) The total number of hours of on-the-job training the apprentice has completed designated by subject matter.
(8) Any training received in a prior board-approved apprenticeship program.
(9) A statement confirming that the apprentice has or has not met the course curriculum requirements.
(10) A statement, dated and signed under penalty of perjury that all the information on the document is true and correct. The statement shall be worded as follows:
"We, the undersigned, certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of California, that all the information contained herein is true and correct."

(c) Apprentices shall submit the certificate of apprenticeship completion and all other qualifying documents with their application to take the licensing examination.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7321, 7321.5, 7324, 7326, 7330, 7333 and 7337, Business and Professions Code.

925. Statement of Trainer Responsibilities

The owner of the establishment where the apprenticeship is being conducted shall inform, in writing, an employee who is an apprentice trainer of the employee's responsibilities as a trainer. The statement of trainer responsibilities shall include, but not be limited to, those provisions specified in subdivisions (a), (b), (c), (d) and (e) of Section 3078 of the Labor Code. The statement of trainer responsibilities shall be signed by the establishment owner and the apprentice trainer and maintained on the premises of the establishment. The statement of trainer responsibilities shall be presented to the board or its representative upon request.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7332, 7333 and 7336, Business and Professions Code.

926. Apprenticeship Credit for Prior Training

(a) An apprentice who desires to establish eligibility for examination pursuant to Sections 7321 through 7330 of the Business and Professions Code for a license in this state based in part on training received in a prior California apprenticeship program shall furnish proof of his or her qualifications as follows:

(1) The prior training must have taken place in an apprenticeship program approved by the board.

(2) The prior training must have taken place within three years immediately preceding re-enrollment in an apprenticeship program approved by the board.

(3) A valid Certificate of Completion or Discontinuance signed by the apprentice, trainer, school representative and program sponsor must be presented to the enrolling program sponsor before prior credit can be granted.

(4) Upon completion of the thirty-two hundred (3,200) hour apprenticeship training course, a valid Certificate of Completion or Discontinuance for each enrollment period must accompany the application for examination.

(b) An apprentice must leave the approved program in good standing to obtain credit for the training received. Good standing is defined as:

(1) Has not been terminated from employment for inappropriate activity.

(2) Has returned the apprentice license to the program sponsor for forwarding to the board.

(3) Has attended related and supplemental training classes pursuant to section 915 CCR.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7333, 7334 and 7345 Business and Professions Code.

This web site contains PDF documents that require the most current version of Adobe Reader to view. To download click on the icon below.
Get Adobe Reader