
 
 
 

 
 

      

  
 

      

 
 

        
         

  
 

      
          

    
 

        
        

       
          
        

     
 

               
          

             
          

 
 

           
              

 
         

 
 

            
 

           
       

              
   

 
            

         
       

         
  

 
          

            
   

 
        

              
      

            
 

 
 

 

 

 

  
 

  

 

 
  

 

         

     
      

      
    

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY ● GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS ● BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY 

P.O. Box 944226, Sacramento, CA 94244-2260 
Phone: (800) 952-5210 Email: barbercosmo@dca.ca.gov 
Website: www.barbercosmo.ca.gov 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

Q: I want to become an Apprentice, what do I need to do? 
A: The first thing you need to do is find a program sponsor, please see the attached approved listing of Program 
Sponsors located here. 

Q: Will it cost me anything to become an Apprentice? 
A: The Board requires a $25.00 licensing fee to be paid for your apprentice license. There will be additional fees 
charged by your program sponsor. 

Q: What other kinds of fees will I need to pay? 
A: The Board recommends that you contact prospective program sponsors in order to educate yourself with the 
potential expenses you will have to pay before you enter the apprenticeship program. These fees can include 
signing up with a program sponsor, your kit, text books and Related Supplemental (RSI) class fees. There can 
also be administrative fees for requests to change or add trainers, transfer to a different establishment and 
requesting an extension of your apprentice license. 

Q: I don’t want to become a Barber, Electrologist or Cosmetology apprentice, but I do want to become a 
Manicurist or Esthetician apprentice. Is the apprentice program available for Manicurist or Esthetician? 
A: No. At this time the apprentice program is for Barber, Cosmetology and Electrology apprentices only. If you 
desire to become a Manicurist or an Esthetician, you will need to contact a school of cosmetology for available 
courses. 

Q: If I am presently attending a Board approved school of Barbering or Cosmetology and would like to 
become an apprentice, may I apply my school hours towards the hours required by the apprentice 
program? 
A: No. Your clock-hours and operations accumulated in a Board approved school of Barbering or Cosmetology 
are non-transferable to the apprentice program. 

Q: Is the Related Supplemental Instruction (RSI) hours part of my 3,200 of On the Job Training (OJT) 
hours? 
A: No. The Related Supplemental Instruction (RSI) (216 hours for Barbering and 220 hours for Cosmetology) is in 
addition to your 3,200 On the Job Training (OJT) hours. The RSI hours are given in a classroom environment and 
will cover the Health and Safety laws of California as well as other topics the program sponsor has included in 
their curriculum. 

Q: I have been told that I need identification but I don’t drive. What can I do? 
A: All licensed individuals, including apprentices, must have a current, valid, government issued, photographic 
identification with them while they are working in an establishment. If you do not drive, you may receive California 
Identification from the California Department of Motor Vehicle. A list of acceptable identifications can be found on 
our website. 

Q: Do I need a social security number to apply to be an apprentice. 
A: The Board requires all applicants have either a valid social security number (SSN) or a valid tax payer 
identification number (ITIN). 

Q. Will I be working on paying clients as an apprentice?
A. Yes. However, all work that you perform on clients must be done under the direct supervision of your
designated trainer in the approved establishment listed on your license.
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Continued… 

Q: Does the trainer that I choose need to have any special education prior to becoming a trainer? 
A: No. Anyone who is currently licensed by the Board as a Barber, Cosmetologist or Electrologist may become a 
trainer. A trainer may be the owner or employee of a licensed establishment and must be in good standing with 
the Board. Your trainer must be licensed in your chosen course of study (i.e., same scope of practice). 

Q: What if my trainer becomes sick or takes a leave of absence? 
A: The Board requires that each apprentice may only work under the direct supervision of their approved trainer. 
If your trainer must take a day or two off due to illness, etc., you may not continue to work without your trainer 
present. If your trainer must take an extended leave of absence, it may become necessary for you to transfer to 
another trainer. You can request an additional trainer be added to your records. Please contact your program 
sponsor to do this. 

Q: If I decide to quit the program or need to take a leave of absence, what can I do? 
A: If you decide to leave the program permanently or for an extended period of time which would prevent you 
from completing the required curriculum (OJT and RSI hours) within the years that your license is valid, your 
program sponsor must complete a Discontinuance of Training from. This completed and signed form must be 
submitted along with your apprentice license to the Board. Your earned OJT hours and operations, RSI hours, 
and pre-apprentice training are retained for three years should you decide to re-enroll. After 3 years your OJT and 
RSI hours are no longer valid and will need to be taken again. 

Q: Do I need to be an apprentice for a full two years before I can take the licensing examination? 
A: Under apprenticeship laws, with a twenty-four month apprentice program no apprentices will be completed 
earlier than twenty-one months pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 8, Regulation 224. 
Regulation 224(e) states in part the following: 

(e) The local apprenticeship program sponsor in recognition of unusual ability and progress in mastering the skills 
of the occupations and the related and supplemental education program may decrease the apprenticeship period 
for individual apprentices by not more than twelve and one-half (12 1/2) percent. 
A twenty-four month program multiplied by twelve and a half percent (12.5%) equals three months. Subtract 
three months from the twenty-four month program and the minimum time the apprentice can be in the program is 
twenty-one months. 

Q: If I finish my requirements in 21 months, may I still continue to work until my apprentice license 
expires? 
A: Yes, you may work as long as your license is valid, and under the supervision of your trainer and in the 
establishment you approved to work in. 

Q: Can I continue to work after my license expires? 
A: No. Once your license is expired you can no longer work. The apprentice license cannot be renewed. If you 
know your apprentice license is going to expire before you take your exam, you can request your program 
sponsor submit an extension form. Your apprentice license will be extended for an additional 3 months. Your 
application for examination and fee must be on file for your extension request to be approved. 
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