P.O. Box 944226, Sacramento, CA 94244-2260
Phone: (800) 952-5210 Email: barbercosmo@dca.ca.gov
BarberCosmo Website: www.barbercosmo.ca.gov

Apprenticeship Information

The Apprenticeship Program is a training program approved by the Division of Apprenticeship Standards (DAS)
and Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (Board) that allows a trainee, called an apprentice, to earn a wage
while studying to become a cosmetologist, barber or electrologist under the guidance and supervision of a trainer
in an establishment licensed by the Board.
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Qualifications to participate in the Apprenticeship Program

1. Be at least sixteen (16) years of age and have completed the 10th grade or its equivalency.

2. Have a valid social security (SSN) or tax payer identification (TIN) number.

3. Have a valid government issued photo ID.

4. Commit to working a minimum of 32 hours and no more than 42 2 hours per week of On the Job Training
(OJT) hours. Apprentice are required to complete a minimum of 3200 OJT hours over a 2-year period.

5. Attend and complete the Related Supplemental Instruction (RSI) classes. You will be required to
complete a minimum of 220 hours over a 2-year period.

How to become an Apprentice

To start the process of becoming an apprentice you will need to join an approved apprenticeship program (also
called a program sponsor). A list of approved apprenticeship programs can be found here.

1. All apprenticeship programs will charge a fee to join their program. You should contact multiple
apprenticeship programs and inquire about their fees, what the fee includes, and where the RSI classes
are located. Unless the program sponsor has applied for and received an exemption from The Bureau of
Private Post-Secondary Education (Bureau), this training CANNOT exceed $2500.00. If you feel your
program sponsor is charging more than $2500.00 without this exemption, please contact the Bureau with
your concerns https://www.bppe.ca.gov/.

2. Complete the 39-hour Pre-apprentice Training Class with your program sponsor. This class will go over
the basic sanitation and Health and Safety laws of California.

After you complete the 39-hour Pre-apprentice Training Class, your program sponsor will have you fill out the
following forms:

1. “Application for an Apprentice License and Approval of Trainer and Establishment”. You may be required
to find your own trainer and establishment where you will work. Your trainer must have a valid license to
supervise your training and the establishment must have a valid license where your training will take
place. Your trainer and establishment cannot have outstanding fines, currently be on, or have prior
disciplinary actions in the last 2 years.

2. “Statement of Trainer Responsibilities”. This form must be maintained on the premises of the
establishment you apprentice in.

3. Additional documents to register you as an apprentice in California with DAS.

Wages and Workman’s Compensation

Your apprentice license will be issued to the establishment you list on your application. Once you receive your
license, you can start working in the salon with your trainer*. Your employer (establishment owner) is required to:

1. Pay you at least minimum wage. As an apprentice you cannot work for commission or rent the station in
the establishment you are registered to work in.
2. Obtain Workman’s Compensation for you.

Examination and Licensure

After completing at least 21 months of the apprenticeship program, the required OJT and RSI hours, you will
apply for the exam by submitting the “Application for Examination” and the fee listed on the application. After
passing both parts of the examination, you will receive your professional license and will no longer have to work
under a trainer as an apprentice.

* An apprentice cannot work until an apprentice license has been issued and is in the possession of the apprentice. Failure to
obtain all approvals before working as an apprentice will subject the establishment owner and apprentice applicant to
administrative citations and fines of up to $1000.00. If you have any questions or concerns, please email the Board at
bbc.apprentice@dca.ca.gov or contact your program sponsor.
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