

JSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY – GOVERNOR Edmund G. Brown JI

BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY

P.O. Box 944226, Sacramento, CA 94244-2260 P (800) 952-5210 F (916) 575-7281 www.barbercosmo.ca.gov



Industry Bulletin – Disinfecting and Storing Client-Owned Tools

Using a Client's Tools

The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (Board) understands that occasionally a client will insist upon bringing in their own tools, into the establishment, with the intent that the client-owned tools be used upon them during a provided service.

Licensees please be aware that you must follow the disinfecting procedures outlined in Section 979 (a) (1) thru (a) (5) of the California Code of Regulations prior to using the tools upon the client. Using tools that are brought in by a client means that you have not disinfected the tools as required by law.

§ 979. Disinfecting Non-Electrical Tools.

- (a) Before use upon a client, all non-electrical tools that can be disinfected, excluding shears, shall be disinfected in the following sequential manner:
 - (1) Remove all visible debris.
 - (2) Clean with soap or detergent and water.
 - (3) Completely dry tools with a new, clean paper towel.
 - (4) Then totally immerse in an EPA-registered disinfectant with demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal activity, used according to manufacturer's instructions.
 - (5) Licensees or students shall wear protective gloves or use tongs when removing tools from the disinfectant.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7312(e), Business and Professions Code.

Storing a Client's Tools

On occasion, a client will ask a licensee to store their tools at the establishment. This practice is not recommended by the Board. All disinfected tools must be labeled as "Clean" or "Disinfected" and stored in accordance with Section 979 (d) of the California Code of Regulations:

§ 979. Disinfecting Non-Electrical Tools

(d) All disinfected tools shall be stored in a clean, covered place which is labeled as Clean" or "Disinfected".

A violation of these regulations could result in a fine of:

1st Offense - \$100.00 2nd Offense - \$250.00 3rd Offense - \$500.00 As a reminder, licensees may not save and re-use non-disinfectable items, such as, emery boards or buffers on the client. These types of items are one time use and should be immediately discarded after use. Please see Section 981 (a) of the California Code of Regulations:

§ 981. Tools and Supplies.

(a) All tools and supplies which come into direct contact with a client and cannot be disinfected (including, but not limited to buffers, pumice stones, wax sticks, toe separators, gloves, cotton pads, sponges, emery boards, and neck strips) shall be disposed of in a waste container immediately after use on a single client.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 7312, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7312(e), Business and Professions Code.

A violation of these regulations could result in a fine of:

1st Offense - \$100.00 2nd Offense - \$150.00 3rd Offense - \$200.00

Revised 7/2015