

## **Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Reciprocity Application** BarberCosmo Instructions and Checklist for All License Types

**Licensing Program** P.O. Box 944226 Sacramento, CA 94244-2260 Phone: (800) 952-5210

Email:

barbercosmo@dca.ca.gov www.barbercosmo.ca.gov

#### MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS [Business and Profession Code (BPC) 7331]

The Board shall grant a license to practice to an applicant if the applicant submits all the following to the Board:

- (a) A completed application form and all fees required by the Board.
- (b) Proof of a current license issued by another state to practice (certification letter) that meets all the following requirements:
  - The license is not revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted.
  - The license is in good standing.

#### **GENERAL INFORMATION**

#### **Helpful Hints:**

- You can apply for reciprocity online through www.breeze.ca.gov. Please allow up to 4 weeks for processing.
- If you have any questions about the status of your application, please first verify your check has been cashed. Allow 6 weeks weeks before inquiring about the status of your application via email after your check has been cashed. Please email barbercosmo@dca.ca.gov for inquiries about application processing.
- Make sure your application is complete with all attachments. Incomplete applications will be returned to you and will delay the processing of the application.
- Once the Board approves your application, your file is sent to our exam/license vendor PSI. A candidate information handbook will be sent to you with instructions about receiving your California license.
- To receive your new license, you must appear at one of the 13 PSI centers throughout California to have your photograph taken and your license issued. You must present a valid government ID.
- Your license will be good for 2 years from the date it is issued and will need to be renewed every 2 years thereafter. The renewal fee is \$50.00.

<u>Convictions:</u> An applicant that has convicted of or pled no contest to, a violation of any law of the United States, in any state, local jurisdiction, or any foreign country, must complete a <u>Disclosure</u> Regarding Criminal

Pleas/Conviction(https://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms\_pubs/forms/disc\_crimpleas.pdf).

<u>Disciplinary Action:</u> An applicant that has ever had any professional or vocational license or registration denied, suspended, revoked, placed on probation or other disciplinary action taken by this or any other governmental authority in this state or any other state, or any foreign country must complete a Disclosure <u>Regarding Disciplinary Action</u> (<a href="https://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms">https://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms</a> pubs/forms/disc\_discact.pdf).

<u>Grounds for Denial:</u> Each applicant's credentials for licensure in California are reviewed on an individual basis. The Board has the authority to deny licensure based on <u>Chapter 2 of Division 1.5</u> of the Business and Professions Code Section 480.

#### **Expedited Application Processing Eligibility:**

#### **Honorably Discharged Veterans of the United States Armed Forces**

The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology is required to expedite the licensure process if you have served as active duty members of the Armed Forces of the United States and were honorably discharged. (Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 115.4)

For an applicant's license to be expedited, the applicant must:

• Submit his or her official orders issued by the Armed Forces of the United States indicating that he or she has been, or will be, honorably discharged.

### Spouse or Domestic Partner of an Active Duty Service Member (AB 1904 and SB 607)

The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology is required to expedite the reciprocity licensure process and waive the Licensing fee of \$50 for spouses and domestic partners of active duty Service Members if they hold a license in another state, district or territory.

For the license to be expedited, the applicant must submit BOTH of the following:

- Orders by the Armed Forces of the United States showing active duty status of spouse/domestic partner; and
- Proof that they are the spouse or domestic partner of the Service Member (marriage license, domestic partner forms, military ID showing spouse/domestic partner relationship)

# Admitted to the United States as a Refugee, Granted Asylum, or Have a Special Immigrant Visa Status

BPC section 135.4 provides that the Board must expedite, and may assist, the initial licensure process for certain applicants described below. To have the application expedited, one of the following statements must apply to you:

 You were admitted to the United States as a refugee pursuant to section 1157 of title 8 of the United States Code;

- You were granted asylum by the Secretary of Homeland Security or the United States Attorney General pursuant to section 1158 of Title 8 of the United States Code; or,
- You have a special immigrant visa and were granted a status pursuant to section 1244
  of Public Law 110-181, Public Law 109-163, or section 602(b) of Title VI of Division F of
  Public Law 111-8, relating to Iraqi and Afghan translators/interpreters or those who
  worked for or on behalf of the United States government.

Satisfactory evidence must be provided in order to expedite your application. Failure to do so may result in application review delays. The following may be accepted as satisfactory evidence:

- Form I-94, Arrival/Departure Record, with an admission class code such as "RE" (Refugee) or "AY" (Asylee) or other information designating the person a refugee or asylee.
- Special immigrant visa that includes the "SI" or "SQ."
- Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), commonly known as a "Green Card," with a category designation indicating that the person was admitted as a refugee or asylee.
- An order from a court of competent jurisdiction or other documentary evidence that provides reasonable assurance that the applicant qualifies for expedited licensure.

APPLICATION CHECKLIST Listed below are the minimum application and supporting materials required for the Reciprocity Application:	
Include a copy of your valid government issued photo ID (Name on the ID must match the name on this application.)	
Complete all fields, answer all questions. All pages must be submitted together.	
Please refer to the application for the appropriate fee amount. Amount varies based on license type. The fees are non-refundable.	
All applicants who have obtained a license in a state other than California must contact their state of licensure and have a certification letter sent to California. Fees from original state of licensure may be incurred.	
Conviction: <a href="https://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms-pubs/forms/disc-crimpleas.pdf">https://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms-pubs/forms/disc-crimpleas.pdf</a> Disciplinary Action:	
https://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms_pubs/forms/disc_discact.pdf	
Applicants that hold a current license in another state and is married to, or in a domestic relationship or other legal union with an active-duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States. Licensing fee is exempt with required documents.	
Applicants that are active duty or have been honorably discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States.	
Applicants who have sought asylum or refugee must provide Form I-94, special immigrant visa, permanent resident card, and court documentation.	