

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY • GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY P.O. Box 944226, Sacramento, CA 94244-2260 Phone: (800) 952-5210 Email: <u>barbercosmo@dca.ca.gov</u> Website: <u>www.barbercosmo.ca.gov</u>



# Personal Service Permit Questions and Answers

The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (Board) created this document to address questions regarding the Personal Service Permit (PSP). Documents related to the PSP rulemaking package may be viewed on the Board's <u>Approved Regulations</u> page.

# 1. What is the purpose of the PSP?

In California, Board licensees could only provide services within a Board-licensed establishment (Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 7317). Trends in the beauty industry show consumers are seeking services outside of licensed establishments and that a number of Board licensees are illegally offering such services in private homes, hotels, businesses, and other locations. During the 2015-2016 session, the Legislature passed AB 181, which was signed by the Governor. The bill, which created BPC section 7402.5, required the Board to issue regulations for a PSP that will set forth the conditions under which the permit would be issued. The creation of a PSP gives licensees the opportunity to provide limited services outside of licensed establishments if they meet certain requirements, while giving the Board oversight over their activities.

# 2. What are the requirements to apply for a PSP?

The Board shall issue a Personal Service Permit authorizing the holder of the permit to perform certain barbering and cosmetology services outside of a licensed establishment if the following conditions are met:

- (1) The applicant is licensed by the Board and has held a valid license for a minimum of two consecutive years, or has been licensed in another state and is eligible for licensure pursuant to BPC section 7331, as a barber, cosmetologist, esthetician, or manicurist, and is not subject to denial pursuant to BPC section 480.
- (2) The applicant submits via Live Scan a full and complete set of their fingerprints for use in conducting a criminal background check through the California Department of Justice. Applicants may be denied a PSP on any applicable ground(s) set forth in BPC section 475.
- (3) The applicant pays the \$25 application fee to the Board.
- (4) The applicant provides proof of current liability insurance in a minimum amount of \$1,000,000.

# 3. What services are allowed under the PSP?

The services that may be performed outside of a licensed establishment by a licensee who holds a PSP are as follows:

- Barber:
  - Shampooing;
  - Cutting, styling, dressing, arranging, curling and waving hair. These authorized services do not include singeing, relaxing, chemically waving, or dyeing the hair.
  - Applying hair tonics;
  - Applying powders, clays, antiseptics, and oils to the scalp, face or neck;
  - Trimming the beard.

- Cosmetologist:
  - Shampooing;
  - Cutting, styling, dressing, arranging, curling and waving hair. These authorized services do not include singeing, relaxing, chemically waving, or dyeing the hair.
  - Applying hair tonics;
  - Applying powders, clays and oils to the scalp, face or neck;
  - Cleaning, massaging, or stimulating the face and neck by means of the hands with the use of cleansing agents, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams. This does not include chemical exfoliation or exfoliation with the use of a tool, machine or device;
  - Removing hair from the body of any person with tweezers;
  - Applying make-up or strip lashes;
  - Buffing and filing nails with non-electrical tools;
  - Applying and removing nail polish.
- Esthetician:
  - Cleaning, massaging, or stimulating the face and neck by means of the hands with the use of cleansing agents, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams. This does not include chemical exfoliation or exfoliation with the use of a tool, machine or device;
  - Applying make-up or strip lashes;
  - Removing hair from the body of any person with tweezers.
- Manicurist:
  - Filing and buffing of nails by non-electrical tools;
  - Applying and removing nail polish.

#### 4. What do I need to provide the consumer after a PSP service?

Upon completion of services outside of a licensed establishment, the holder of a PSP shall:

- 1) Provide the consumer with a <u>Personal Service Permit Consumer Notice</u>
- 2) Obtain a signed and dated receipt from the consumer that contains the following information:
  - A. The consumer's acknowledgement of receipt of the Personal Service Permit Consumer Notice;
  - B. The consumer's name;
  - C. The consumer's phone number;
  - D. The consumer's email address, if available
  - E. A list of all services rendered to the consumer.
- 3) Provide a copy of the receipt to the consumer.

Note: The notice and receipt requirements may be satisfied electronically.

# 5. What size does a printed Consumer Notice need to be?

The Personal Service Permit Consumer Notice may be printed at any size so long as the consumer can read all information. For convenience, the Board created a <u>version with three</u> <u>Notices on one sheet</u>.

# 6. How long do I need to save a copy of the receipt?

Keep receipts on file for a period of five (5) years from the date of the service.

# 7. Would licensees with a PSP need a business license for each county they travel to?

A PSP holder would be required to comply with any type of license or permit as required by the local government entity.