
Chemical 
Exfoliation 

S a f e t y  t i p S  

Cosmetologists and 
estheticians are licensed 
and regulated in California 
by the Board of Barbering 
and Cosmetology (Board). 
The Board works to 
ensure that cosmetologists 
and estheticians follow 
State law and established 
infection control standards. 

What is ChemiCal  
exfoliation? 

Chemical exfoliation is a process in 

which an acid solution is used to remove 

the damaged outer layers of the skin. 

in performing chemical exfoliation, 

cosmetologists and estheticians are limited 

to performing light or superfcial chemical 

exfoliation. it is out of the scope of practice 

for a cosmetologist or esthetician to 

perform a medium- or deep-depth peel. to 

receive these services, you must consult 

with a dermatologist. 

Here are tips consumers should keep 

in mind when considering a chemical 

exfoliation service (skin peel). 

for questions, comments, or complaints, 
contact the Board. 

Board of BarBering and Cosmetology 
2420 del Paso road, suite 100 

saCramento, Ca 95834 
www.barbercosmo.ca.gov 

800-952-5210 
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www.barbercosmo.ca.gov


   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While at the salon Do not ChemiCallY exfoliate 

• Look around to see if the salon is clean, free • if your skin is irritated, infamed or you have 

of trash, and set up with clean, sanitized tools. open wounds. 

• Make sure your cosmetologist or esthetician • any area that has a rash, recent scar tissue, 

has their license displayed at his/her a recent skin graft, cold sores, moles, warts 

workstation.  or pimples. 

• your technician should wash his/her hands • any place you have recently gotten Botox 

RememBeR—if you see something 

not quite right, say something, frst 

to your skin care technician and then 

to the salon owner. if there is no 

resolution, say something to 

the Board by calling 800-952-5210 

or by fling a complaint online at 

www.BreeZe.ca.gov. 

Let’s work together for a safe, 

healthy, salon experience. 

ensuring the health and safety of 

California consumers by promoting 

ethical standards and by enforcing 

the laws of the barbering and  

beauty industry. 

before serving you. if they don’t, ask the or collagen injections. 
exfoliation of the skin, such as: technician to do so.  • anywhere that has been waxed or shaved 
» Microdermabrasion • all clean, disinfectable tools should come within the past 24 hours. 

from a clean, closed container labeled » Dermabrasion • Over or around body piercings. 
“CLeaN.” ask what disinfection procedures • if you have taken prescription medications • if you have lupus or aiDS, or you are in your technician is using. you have the right  such as:cancer therapy getting chemotherapy  to know. 

or radiation. » antibiotics 
• Disposable items such as cotton balls 

• if you have been in direct sunlight for a long » accutane and pads, sponges, and Q-tips should be 
period of time, used a tanning bed in the immediately thrown away after use.  » topical ointments (Retin-a or Renova) 
past 24 hours, or your skin is sunburned. 

• your treatment table should be covered  » acne medication 

with a clean towel or sheet of new treatment • While you are pregnant, or taking birth 
table paper. control, hormone replacement, or antibiotics. 

• During this time your skin can be more 

sensitive. you may consider having your 

technician perform a patch test before he/ 

she attempts a full service. 

When to Be CaUtioUs 

• if you have recently used skin care products 

that contain: 

» Salicylic acid 

» Glycolic acid 

» alpha hydroxyl acids of any kind 

• if you have recently received aggressive 

afteR the seRViCe 

it is important to remember chemical 

exfoliation services can have unfavorable 

results including, but not limited to: allergic 

reaction, irritation, burning, redness, scarring, 

and soreness.  




