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To ensure the health and safety of 
California consumers by promoting 
ethical standards and by enforcing 
the laws of the barbering and 
beauty industry. 
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Message from the President 
I hope that your new year is off to a great start. It was an honor to serve 
as vice president in 2021 and 2022, and I am excited to serve as Board 
president for 2023. I thought it would be appropriate to kick off my frst 
message with a brief introduction. 

I’ve had the honor to serve on the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 
since November 2019. I have been an attorney for the Los Angeles County 
Child Support Services Department since 2017. I am a graduate of UCLA 
School of Law and currently serve as a planning commissioner for the City 
of Alhambra and a lecturer in law at USC Gould School of Law. I am a past 
president of the Asian Pacifc American Women Lawyers Alliance and a co 
chair of the Annual Asian Pacifc American Community Holiday Toy Drive 
and Reception. 

I plan to continue to build on last year’s successes and fnd new ways to 
promote the Board’s mission of consumer protection and communicating 
effectively with our licensees. I am excited to work with Vice President 
Tonya Fairley this year, and I congratulate her on her election. 

Calimay Pham 
Board President 
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Message from the Executive Offcer 
Thank you for taking the time to read the BarberCosmo 
Update. We strive to provide you with important 
information about the Board’s operations and activities 
in each issue. Please follow us on Facebook, Twitter, 
and Instagram if you don’t already, and check out our 
website for updates as well. 

This year, the Board will continue with implementation 
of our Strategic Plan. The Strategic Plan provides the 
framework to reexamine current challenges and allow 
new strategies and goals to further promote consumer 
protection in the barbering and beauty industry. 

I encourage you to read the Strategic Plan at 
www.barbercosmo.ca.gov (click on the 
“Publications” tab, then scroll to “Reports”) to learn 
more about our goals for administration, legislation, 
regulation, licensing, inspections, enforcement, and 
outreach for the next fve years. An update on our 
progress will be provided at the next board meeting. 

2023 will be a great year of fulflling our mission of 
consumer protection. I wish the best for you and your 
business this year. 

Kristy Underwood 
Executive Offcer 

Renewal 
Reminder 
The governor waived renewal fees for licensees of the 
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology due in 2021 and 
2022. Now that it’s 2023, licensees will start paying for 
their renewals again. 

As a reminder, Board licenses renew on a two-year 
cycle based on the previous expiration date. For 
instance, if your license expires April 30, 2023, your 
expiration date will become April 30, 2025, after 
renewal. Your expiration date is not based on the date 
you renew. 

A timely renewal fee for personal licenses (barber, 
cosmetologist, electrologist, esthetician, manicurist) 
is $50. A delinquent (late) renewal fee for personal 
licenses is $25, bringing the total renewal fee to $75. 

A timely establishment renewal fee is $40. A 
delinquent establishment renewal fee is $20, bringing 
the total renewal fee to $60. 

https://www.facebook.com/California-State-Board-of-Barbering-and-Cosmetology-156090647850582/
https://twitter.com/CA_BBC
https://www.instagram.com/cabarbercosmo/
http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov
http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov
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Calimay Pham, Public Member, President Yolanda Jimenez, Public Member 

Board Members 

Tonya Fairley, Industry Member, Vice 
President 

Megan A. Ellis, Public Member 

Kellie Funk, Industry Member 

Reese A. Isbell, Public Member 

Have You 
Considered Serving 
as a Board Member? 
The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology currently has 
three vacancies and is seeking a California-licensed 
manicurist, barber, and an establishment owner or 
cosmetologist to serve as board members. 

Board members help shape the direction of the beauty 
and barbering industry with their collective decision 
making. Board members provide policy direction, 
participate in voting on disciplinary matters, and 
approve regulation packages. 

Colette Kavanaugh, Industry Member 

Danielle Munoz, Public Member 

Jacob Rostovsky, Public Member 

Steve Weeks, Public Member 

The Board holds quarterly meetings with the full 
board, in addition to committee meetings whenever 
necessary. Board members are expected to attend 
board meetings and committee meetings. Board 
members must also commit time to review meeting 
materials and attend all trainings.  

If you are interested in being considered for 
an appointment to the Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology, the Board encourages you to contact: 

• Governor’s Offce. 

• Senate Rules Committee. 

• Speaker of the Assembly. 

https://www.gov.ca.gov/appointments/
http://srul.senate.ca.gov/
https://speaker.asmdc.org/how-apply-speaker-appointment
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‘Do I Have to Renew My License?’ 
The Board often receives questions from licensees 
asking if they are required to renew their license. If you 
are providing services in California, you need a current 
license. 

If you are retiring and do not plan to work in the barbering 
and beauty industry again, you can allow your license to 
expire. The Board does not have a “retired” or “inactive” 
license status, so you will continue to receive renewal 
reminders, which you may disregard. 

If you are moving to another state and plan to move back 
to California in the future, you may want to consider 
keeping your California license current. 

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 
7418, a license which has not been renewed within 
fve years following its expiration shall be deemed 
canceled and may not be renewed, restored, reinstated, 
or reissued thereafter. The holder of the canceled 
license may obtain a new license only by submitting an 
application, paying all required fees, and qualifying for 
and passing the examination that would be required if the 
holder were applying for the license for the frst time. 

So, if you are only taking a break from the industry for 
a few years, it may be in your best interest to keep 
renewing your license anyway. 

Personal Service Permit 
Are you booking services with a cosmetologist, 
barber, manicurist, or esthetician and will the services 
be provided in your home, a hotel, or other location 
outside of a licensed establishment? If so, the licensee 
providing the services must also have a Personal Service 
Permit (PSP) issued by the Board. The PSP allows 
licensees to provide limited services outside of licensed 
establishments if they meet certain requirements. 
Previously, licensees could only provide services within 
a Board-licensed establishment, such as a salon, spa, or 
barbershop. 

After receiving services, the licensee must provide 
you, the consumer, with a Personal Service Permit 
Consumer Notice and a receipt. The receipt must 
contain your acknowledgement of receipt of the PSP 
Consumer Notice, your name, your phone number, 
your email address (if available), and a list of all services 
received. 

The Board worked with the Department of Consumer 
Affairs’ Offce of Public Affairs to create two informational 

videos regarding the PSP. One video is directed toward 
licensees and the other is directed toward consumers. 
Both videos provide benefcial information to help 
protect consumers. Watch the videos and learn more 
about the PSP at www.barbercosmo.ca.gov (click 
on the “Licensees” tab, choose “Home”, then scroll to 
“Personal Service Permit (PSP) Information”). 

https://barbercosmo.ca.gov/laws_regs/psp_consumer_notice.pdf
https://barbercosmo.ca.gov/laws_regs/psp_consumer_notice.pdf
http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov
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Consumer Corner: 

The Complaint Process 
While consumers can often resolve issues relating to unsatisfactory service by discussing the situation with 
the licensee who provided the service or with the establishment’s manager or owner, sometimes more serious 
problems arise. 

If you are injured during a service, you should: 

1. Discuss the situation with the licensee, the manager, 
or the owner. 

2. Take photographs of the injury. 

3. Seek immediate medical attention if necessary. 

4. File a complaint with the Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology. 

The Board handles complaints involving gross 
negligence and/or incompetence, unsanitary conditions 
in establishments, and unlicensed activity: 

• Gross negligence and/or incompetence complaints 
should include the establishment name and 
address, the operator’s name and license number, 
details of the incident, photographs, medical 
records, and receipt for services. 

• Unsanitary condition complaints should include 
the establishment name and address along with a 
detailed description of the unsanitary conditions at 
the salon or school and, if applicable, the station 
where you saw the violations. 

• Unlicensed activity complaints should include 
the establishment name and address, unlicensed 
operator’s names, and days of the week and time 
of day the unlicensed operator(s) are performing 
services. 

The Board cannot take action on complaints regarding 
prices being charged at a salon, poor customer service, 
or dissatisfaction with services provided. 

All complaints must be received in writing. Complaints 
may be submitted at www.barbercosmo.ca.gov 

(click on the “Enforcement” tab, then scroll to “File 
a Complaint”). When submitting a complaint, include 
as much information as possible (the name and work 
schedule [days, hours] of the individual in question, 
establishment business hours, establishment name, etc.). 

The Board makes every effort to resolve complaints in 
a timely manner. At times, investigations can take an 
extended period of time to complete due to the nature 
and complexity of the complaint. Upon the closure of 
the complaint, the consumer is notifed of the outcome. 
Consumers are welcome to contact the Board to check 
the status of their complaints at any time. 

If the Board’s investigation confrms violations of rules 
and regulations, the licensee may receive a citation and 
fne. In the most severe cases, the Board will refer the 
licensee to the California Attorney General’s Offce for 
disciplinary action, which may include suspension or 
even revocation of their license. 

Complaints that provide detailed information can be 
addressed more effciently and effectively. A complaint 
can be fled anonymously; however, the Board may have 
a diffcult time investigating these complaints. If the 

5 

Board is unable to obtain documentation or evidence of 
the complaint allegations, the Board may not be able to 
pursue the complaint. 

http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov
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Obtaining 
a License in 
Another State 
The Board often receives questions from licensees about 
how to “transfer” their license to another state. Each 
state has its own licensing agency and requirements. 
A license is not “transferred” however, other states 
may allow you to use your California license to qualify 
for a license in their state (this is often referred to as a 
“licensure by endorsement” or “reciprocity”). You would 
need to contact the other state agency to ask about 
their requirements and application process. You may 
need to request a Certifcation of Licensure from the 
California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. You can 
mail the request and $10 fee or order the certifcation 
online through BreEZe. If the other state requires school 
transcripts, contact the school you attended. The Board 
does not provide school transcripts. 

Although you would be obtaining another license in 
another state, your California license would still be valid 
(so long as you keep renewing it). Obtaining a license 
in another state does not automatically cancel your 
California license. You should update the address for your 
California license so you will still receive renewal notices. 
You can update your address online through BreEZe. 

Scope of 
Practice 
Reminder 
Licensees shall limit their services to only those areas 
for which they are licensed (BPC 7316). Becoming 
“certifed,” receiving training, or being supervised by 
someone does not change your scope of practice. 

If a manicurist attends a class and receives a 
certifcate for completing eyelash extension 
training, can they now provide eyelash 
extensions? 

No, they must be licensed as a cosmetologist or 
esthetician to provide eyelash extension services. 

If an esthetician works in a medical spa owned 
by a physician, can they provide laser services? 

No, estheticians cannot provide medical or laser 
services, regardless of where they work. 

If a cosmetologist attends a balayage class to 
learn a new technique to apply highlights, can 
they provide balayage treatments? 

Yes, bleaching and coloring hair is already in a 
cosmetologist’s scope of practice. 

If a barber attends a class on fades to advance 
their clipper skills, is that OK? 

Yes, a barber can receive additional training in 
barbering even if they are already licensed. 

https://www.breeze.ca.gov/
https://www.breeze.ca.gov/


The BarberCosmo update Winter 2023

7 

  
 

 
 

 

  
 

 

  
 

  
 

  
 

 

  
 

Did You Know? 
The most common violation cited during an inspection 
is title 16, California Code of Regulations section 979 
regarding disinfection of nonelectrical tools. Here are 
some tips to avoid a violation: 

• Before use upon a client, properly clean tools. 
Remove all visible debris, clean with soap or 
detergent and water, dry the tools, totally immerse 
instruments in an EPA-registered disinfectant 
solution, and use gloves or tongs to remove the 
tools from the disinfectant. 

• Always keep disinfectant solution covered and 
change disinfectant when it is cloudy, contains 
debris, or according to the manufacturer’s 
instructions. 

• Store all soiled nonelectrical items (examples: 
combs, brushes, nail clippers) in a container that is 
labeled “Dirty,” “Soiled,” or “Contaminated.” 

• Store all disinfected nonelectrical items in a 
clean covered place that is labeled “Clean” or 
“Disinfected.” 

• Shears shall be disinfected by removing all visible 
debris, clean with soap or detergent and water, 
spray or wipe with an EPA-registered disinfectant 
solution. 

• Disinfected tools and shears shall not be placed 
in a container, pouch, or holder that cannot be 
disinfected. 
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Reminders for 
Establishment 
Owners 
Q: Do I need to notify the Board if I close my 
establishment? 

A: Yes. Submit an Establishment Closure form 
with the effective date of closure. This also 
applies if you sold your business to a new owner. 

Q: Do I need to have a new establishment 
license if I move my salon to a new location? 

A: Yes. Any time you move to a new location, 
you need to apply for a new establishment 
license. An establishment license is only valid 
for the address listed on the license. This also 
pertains to changing suite numbers. 

Dress for 
Success 
While barbering and cosmetology schools may have 
a dress code for students, the Board does not have 
regulations regarding the type of clothing or shoes 
licensees wear. Title 16, California Code of Regulations 
section 983(a) requires the attire of a licensee serving a 
client to be clean at all times. 

Here are some tips to keep in mind when getting 
dressed: 

• Comfortable, supportive shoes can prevent back, 
leg, and foot pain. 

• Shoes with non-slip soles can provide extra 
protection from slips and falls. 

• Closed-toe shoes provide protection from electrical 
tools and sharp implements. 

• Long-sleeved shirts or smocks can prevent 
chemical powders from touching your skin. 

• Water-resistant aprons can prevent chemical liquids 
from touching your clothes and skin. 

• Avoid jewelry that could get caught in equipment or 
dangle in a client’s face. 
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Display of Licenses 
Title 16, California Code of Regulations section 965 
states: 

(a) All operators’ licenses shall be conspicuously 
posted at their primary workstations. 

(b)All establishment licenses shall be conspicuously 
posted in the reception areas. 

(c) No license which has expired or become invalid 
for any reason whatever shall be displayed by 
any person in connection with the practices as 
defned in section 7316 of the Business and 
Professions Code. Any license so displayed shall 
be surrendered to the Board upon its request. 

What exactly does this mean? 

• Your barber, cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, 
electrologist, or apprentice license must be visibly 
displayed at your primary workstation. 

• You must display the license mailed to you from the 
Board—not a photocopy or a copy of your receipt. 

• Make sure your license is completely visible and not 
hidden behind anything, such as photos or product 
containers. 

• The establishment license must be visibly displayed 
in the reception area. 

• Make sure the establishment license is not folded, 
cut, or hidden. 

• It is not required for your license to be in a frame, 
though you can choose to use one. 

• Your licenses must be current, not expired. 

2023 Board of Barbering 
and Cosmetology Act 
and Regulations Book 
New year, new law book! Download the latest version 
on the Board’s website at www.barbercosmo.ca.gov 
(click on the “Laws and Regulations” tab; available in 
English, Spanish, Korean, and Vietnamese). 

http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov
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Chemical 
Exfoliation 
Safety Tips 
Chemical exfoliation is a process in which an acid 
solution is used to remove the damaged outer layers 
of the skin. In performing chemical exfoliation, 
cosmetologists and estheticians are limited to 
performing light or superfcial chemical exfoliation. It 
is out of the scope of practice for a cosmetologist or 
esthetician to perform a medium or deep-depth peel. 
Here are tips consumers should keep in mind when 
considering a chemical exfoliation service (skin peel). 

WHILE AT THE SALON 

• Look around to see if the salon is clean, free of 
trash, and set up with clean, disinfected tools. 

• Make sure your cosmetologist or esthetician has 
their license displayed at their workstation. 

• The licensee should wash their hands before 
providing the service. If they don’t, ask them to do 
so. 

• All clean, disinfectable tools should come from a 
clean, closed container labeled “Clean.” You have 
the right to ask what disinfection procedures the 
licensee uses. 

• Disposable items such as cotton balls, sponges, 
and cotton swabs should be immediately thrown 
away after use. 

• The treatment table should be covered with a clean 
towel or new sheet of treatment table paper. 

DO NOT CHEMICALLY EXFOLIATE: 

• If your skin is irritated, inflamed, or you have open 
wounds. 

• Any area that has a rash, recent scar tissue, a 
recent skin graft, cold sores, moles, warts, or 
pimples. 

• Any area you have recently gotten injections. 

• Anywhere that has been waxed or shaved within 
the past 24 hours. 

• Over or around body piercings. 

• If you have lupus or AIDS, or you are in cancer 
therapy getting chemotherapy or radiation. 

• If you have been in direct sunlight for a long period 
of time, used a tanning bed in the past 24 hours, or 
your skin is sunburned. 

WHEN TO BE CAUTIOUS: 

• If you have recently used skin care products that 
contain: 

– Salicylic acid 

– Glycolic acid 

– Alpha hydroxyl acids of any kind 

• If you have recently received aggressive exfoliation 
of the skin, such as: 

– Microdermabrasion 

– Dermabrasion 

• If you have taken prescription medications such as: 

– Antibiotics 

– Accutane 

– Topical ointments (Retin-A or Renova) 

– Acne medication 

• While you are pregnant, or taking birth control, 
hormone replacement, or antibiotics. During this 
time your skin can be more sensitive. You may 
consider having your technician perform 
a patch test before they attempt a full service. 

(Continued on page 11) 
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(Continued from page 10) 

AFTER THE SERVICE 

Your licensee should provide directions regarding sun 
protection, cleansing, and moisturizing. Some general 
tips include: 

• Avoid picking, rubbing, or scratching your face. 

• Avoid direct sunlight and wear sunscreen. 

• Avoid strenuous workouts, saunas, and steam 
rooms. 

• Avoid using cosmetic makeup products. 

• Cleanse with cool water and pat your skin dry (do 
not rub). 

It is important to remember chemical exfoliation 
services can have unfavorable results including, but not 
limited to, allergic reaction, irritation, burning, redness, 
scarring, and soreness. However, when they’re done 
correctly by a licensee and the right peel is used for 
your skin type, you should see great results with 
minimal discomfort. 
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Interested In Beginning Your 
State Career? 
Visit the Board’s Job Opportunities 
webpage at www.barbercomso.ca.gov 
(click on the “About Us” tab and choose 
“Job Opportunities”) to view current job 
announcements and information on how 
to apply. 

Benefts include: 

• Opportunities for career advancement. 

• Great state retirement and medical/ 
dental plans. 

• Free on site parking and access to 
public transportation. 

• Work hours 8 a.m. 5 p.m. Monday 
Friday, weekends off, and paid 
holidays. 

• Hybrid telework options available. 

Subscribe To the Board’s Email List 
to Receive Updates on Regulations, 
Board Meetings, Important 
Bulletins, and More! 
https://www.dca.ca.gov/webapps/ 
barber/subscribe email.php 

Have You Recently Moved? 
It is important that the Board has 
accurate addresses on fle should the 
Board need to contact its licensees 
or applicants. Government mail is not 
forwarded by the post offce. Remember 
to update your home address through 
BreEZe. Licensees are required by law 
to notify the Board within 30 days if they 
change their address of record. 

Have a Question? 
Check out the Frequently Asked 
Questions webpage at 
www.barbercomso.ca.gov 
for answers to your questions! 

Contact Us 
• Applicants, licensees, and members 
of the public may call (800) 952 5210 or 
email barbercosmo@dca.ca.gov 
for questions not answered on our 
FAQs page. 

• School owners and administrators 
may email BBC.Schools@dca.ca.gov. 

• Apprenticeship sponsors may email 
BBC.Apprentice@dca.ca.gov. 

PDE 23-082 

https://barbercosmo.ca.gov/about_us/jobs.shtml
https://barbercosmo.ca.gov/about_us/jobs.shtml
http://www.barbercomso.ca.gov/
https://www.dca.ca.gov/webapps/barber/subscribe_email.php
https://www.dca.ca.gov/webapps/barber/subscribe_email.php
https://www.breeze.ca.gov/
https://barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms_pubs/publications/faqs.shtml
https://barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms_pubs/publications/faqs.shtml
http://www.barbercomso.ca.gov/
mailto:barbercosmo@dca.ca.gov
https://barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms_pubs/publications/faqs.shtml
mailto:BBC.Schools@dca.ca.gov
mailto:BBC.Apprentice@dca.ca.gov
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