Stylists Article - February 2013

Printer Friendly Version

Joseph Federico was voted President of the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology at the Board’s January 11, 2013, meeting in Sacramento.

Mr. Federico, an industry member who served as vice president of the Board last year, takes over the gavel from Christie Truc Tran. Public Board Member Wen Ling Cheng, meanwhile, was elected to the vice president‘s spot.

Mr. Federico has been the chief financial officer of the Federico Beauty Institute in Sacramento since 2009, where he was director of financial aid from 2006 to 2009 and has served on the board of directors since 2004. He has been a member of the American Association of Cosmetology Schools and the California Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators since 2006. He was appointed to the Board and served as vice president last year.

Ms. Cheng of Palo Alto is a State Farm insurance agent in Burlingame, who was appointed by Assembly Speaker John Perez in 2011. Ms. Tran’s tenure as the Board’s first Vietnamese-American president was praised at the meeting by both Board members and the public. Richard Hedges, himself recently reappointed to the Board as a public member by the Senate Committee on Rules, said the Board was “privileged” to have the Stanton, CA businesswoman as a member.

The Board also welcomed a new Public Member, Bobbie Jean Anderson, of Los Angeles. Ms. Anderson served as a field representative for Assemblyman Mike Davis from 2006 to 2009. She also worked as a supervising legal office assistant at the Los Angeles County Office of the Public Defender from 1978 to 2003 and as a typist clerk for the Los Angeles County Department of Public Social Services from 1957 to 1968. Ms. Anderson served on the executive board of the Legacy Service Employees International Union Local 660/721 from 1995 to 2003. The other Board members are Industry Member Deedee Crossett and Public Members Katie Dawson and Frank Lloyd.

Under the Business and Professions Code, the Governor appoints three of the public members and the four industry members. The Senate Committee on Rules and the Speaker of the Assembly each appoint one public member. Compensation for Board members is a $100 per diem per Board meeting.

This web site contains PDF documents that require the most current version of Adobe Reader to view. To download click on the icon below.
Get Adobe Reader