Stylist Article – March 2020 – The Inspection Process

To protect the safety and welfare of consumers, the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (Board) conducts random inspections of establishments to ensure they are complying with the state laws. To prepare for a successful inspection, licensees should know what to expect when inspected.

Upon arrival, the Board inspector will show a state identification and inform you that he or she is there to inspect. Licensees may continue to provide services to clients during the inspection. The inspector will ask to speak to the licensee in charge. The licensee in charge can be the establishment owner or any individual licensee. The licensee in charge is responsible for unlocking any cabinets, doors, or drawers, so that the inspector can do a thorough inspection of the establishment. In addition, the inspector will ask to see a valid photographic identification of every operator. The inspector will compare the identification to the Board-issued license that should be displayed at the primary workstation to ensure that all operators working are licensed. The inspector will also check to see if the establishment license is visibly posted in the reception area.

After the inspection, the inspector will review the inspection report and explain any noted violations with the licensee in charge. One of the primary goals of the inspection is to ensure licensees understand how to resolve compliance issues. After the review, the licensee in charge will be asked to sign the inspection report. Signing does not mean that you agree with the violations - it is merely a way for the Board to know that you saw the report.

The inspection report is then forwarded to the Board's Cite and Fine unit to be reviewed. If establishments and individuals are identified as out of compliance with California law, the Board will issue citations approximately 45-60 days after inspection. Once you receive the citation and review the violations listed, you have two choices: 1) pay the fine or 2) appeal the violation(s).

If you decide to appeal your citation, carefully read the instructions on the citation. The appeal process is time sensitive and you must follow California law to participate in this process. You are given 30 days after the date of issuance to request an appeal. If your appeal is postmarked after the due date, it will be denied, and the fine will be due.

If your appeal is granted, you will be notified in writing of your hearing date, location, and time 30 days prior to the scheduled hearing date. You (or your appointed representative) will appear in person to present your case before the disciplinary review committee. Carefully read your Notice of Hearing as it will contain additional information on the hearing process.

If you would like to perform a self-inspection of your establishment and see what inspectors look for, download the Self-Inspection Worksheet at <u>https://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms_pubs/index.shtml</u>. The worksheet is available in English, Korean, Spanish, and Vietnamese.