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TITLE 16. BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY 
                                 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING 
 
 NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (“the Board”) 
is proposing to take the action described in the Informative Digest.  Any person interested may 
present statements or arguments orally or in writing relevant to the action proposed at a hearing 
to be held from 10:30. a.m.-11:30 a.m. on July 24, 2019 in the Sequoia Room at the Board’s 
offices at 2420 Del Paso Road, Sacramento, California, 95834.  Written comments, including 
those sent by mail, facsimile, or e-mail to the addresses listed under Contact Person in this 
Notice, must be received by the Board at its offices not later than 5:00 p.m. on July 24, 2019 or 
must be received by the Board at the hearing.  The Board, upon its own motion or at the request 
of any interested party, may thereafter adopt the proposals substantially as described below or 
may modify such proposals if such modifications are sufficiently related to the original text.  With 
the exception of technical or grammatical changes, the full text of any modified proposal will be 
available for 15 days prior to its adoption from the person designated in this Notice as contact 
person and will be mailed to those persons who submit written or oral testimony related to this 
proposal or who have requested notification of any changes to the proposal. 
 
 Authority and Reference:  Pursuant to the authority vested by Sections 7312, 7406, 
7407, 7408.1, and 7417 of the Business and Professions Code, and to implement, interpret or 
make specific Sections 7406, 7407, 7407.1, 7408.1, 7409, 7414, and 7353.4 of said Code, the 
Board is considering changes to Division 9 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 
 
 

INFORMATIVE DIGEST 
 
A. Informative Digest 
 
 

Amend Section 974 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR) regarding the schedule 
of administrative fines and adopt Section 974.3 of the CCR regarding payment plans for 
fines exceeding $500. 
 
Business and Professions Code (BPC) Section 7312 authorizes the Board to “make 
rules and regulations in aid or furtherance” of Chapter 10 of Division 3 of the BPC, also 
known as the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. BPC Section 7353.4 requires that the 
Board set a fine for failure to post a notice regarding employee labor rights in California. 
BPC Section 7406 authorizes the Board to levy fines, while BPC Section 7407 requires 
that the Board create a schedule of administrative fines. BPC Section 7407.1 requires 
the Board to show in regulation when fines are assessed to the holder of the 
establishment license, an individual licensee, or both for the same violation. BPC 
Section 7408.1 requires the Board create regulations regarding payment plans for fines 
exceeding $500. BPC Section 7409 gives the Board discretion as to whether a person 
may avoid a fine if a first offense is corrected. Section 7414 authorizes the Board to 
refuse to renew a license when fines are unpaid, and Section 7417 governs license 
renewals. 
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B. Policy Statement Overview/Anticipated Benefits of Proposal 
 

1) New or Revised Fines 
 
7404(l) –- This fine, which is levied on licensees who seek to delay and/or 
prevent an inspection that is in progress needs to be increased in order to 
discourage licensees from interfering with inspections and hindering the board’s 
primary mission to protect consumers.  

 
7349 — Under BPC Section 7317, the board’s fine schedule recognizes that 
although the law requires all individuals and establishments to have valid, current 
licenses while working or operating, there is a difference between someone 
performing barbering and cosmetology services without ever having had a 
license, or an establishment never having had a license, and someone 
performing services, or an establishment operating, under a license that has 
expired. The board is seeking to make the same distinction for the employment 
of persons under BPC Section 7349 by adding a smaller fine for cases where the 
employee’s license is merely expired. The higher fine would be reserved for 
employing people who never obtained a license in the first place.  
 
7353.4 — In 2016, the Legislature passed AB 2437, which was signed by the 
Governor and filed with the Secretary of State on September 14, 2016. The bill 
required the California Labor Commissioner to create a notice regarding 
workplace rights and wages and hour laws that would be posted in Barbering and 
Cosmetology establishments on or after July 1, 2017. The bill also requires the 
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology set an administrative fine for 
establishments that fail to post the notice.  
 
984(a),(b),(e) — These subsections are not new, nor do they create new fines. 
But in order to clearly identify whether it is the establishment license holder or the 
individual licensee who is responsible for the violation and fine pursuant to BPC 
7407.1 (see (2) below), it is necessary to break up Section 984 in the existing 
fine schedule into its subparagraphs. 

 
 

2) Fine Assessments 
 

The Board is seeking to modify the fine schedule to list which fines are levied 
only against the holder of an establishment owner or the individuals working at 
the establishment, and those that may be levied against both for the same 
violation. This revision is designed to help licensees better understand the 
Board’s fining policies and meet the requirements of SB 1044.  
 

3) Payment Plans 
 

The Board is seeking to adopt CCR Section 974.3 that will set parameters for 
payment plans for fines exceeding $500, as required under BPC Section 7408.1. 

   
C. Consistency and Compatibility with Existing State Regulations 
 

After conducting a review for any regulations that would relate to or affect this area, the 
Board has evaluated this regulatory proposal and found it is not inconsistent or 
incompatible with existing state regulations. 
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FISCAL IMPACT ESTIMATES 
 

Fiscal Impact on Public Agencies Including Costs or Savings to State Agencies or 
Costs/Savings in Federal Funding to the State:  The Board estimates it will issue an 
additional $51,600.00 in fines under the revised fines. Typically, the Board only collects 
63 percent of fines levied, but because the payment plans will make it easier for 
licensees to pay large fines, the Board expects that percentage to increase to 80 
percent, which means the Board expects an increase in annual fine revenue of 
$41,280.00. The rules regarding who is cited for a violation and payment plans are not 
expected to have any fiscal impact. 

 
 
 
 Nondiscretionary Costs/Savings to Local Agencies:  None 
 
 Local Mandate:  None 
 
 Cost to Any Local Agency or School District for Which Government Code Sections 

17500 - 17630 Require Reimbursement: None 
 
 Business Impact:   
 
 The board has made an initial determination that the proposed regulatory action would 

have no significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting business, 
including the ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in other states. 

  
 Cost Impact on Representative Private Person or Business:   
 
 The Board is not aware of any cost impacts that a representative private person or 

business would necessarily incur in reasonable compliance with the proposed action. 
 
 Effect on Housing Costs:   None             
 
 
EFFECT ON SMALL BUSINESS 
 
The Board has determined that the proposed regulation will not have a significant adverse 
impact on small businesses because it only concerns fines for business owners who fail to 
follow the law. 
 
RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT/ANALYSIS: 
 
 Impact on Jobs/Businesses: 
 

  The Board has determined that this regulatory proposal will not have an impact on the 
creation of jobs or new businesses or the elimination of jobs or existing businesses or 
the expansion of businesses in the State of California because it only affect businesses 
that fail to follow the law. 

   
 Benefits of Regulation: 
 

 The Board has determined that this regulatory proposal will help protect the health and 
safety of consumers by motivating licensees to follow the laws and regulations of the 
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Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. While this proposal will not directly protect worker 
health and safety, it will protect workers by helping to ensure that they are informed 
about their rights in the workplace and the Board’s fining policies. This proposal will not 
affect the state’s environment. 

 
CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES 
 
The Board must determine that no reasonable alternative it considered to the regulation or that 
has otherwise been identified and brought to its attention would be more effective in carrying out 
the purpose for which the action is proposed, would be as effective and less burdensome to 
affected private persons than the proposal described in this Notice, or would be more cost 
effective to affected private persons and equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or 
other provision of law. 
 
Any interested person may present statements or arguments orally or in writing relevant to the 
above determinations at the above-mentioned hearing. 
 
INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND INFORMATION 
 
The Board has prepared an initial statement of the reasons for the proposed action and has 
available all the information upon which the proposal is based. 
  
TEXT OF PROPOSAL 
 
Copies of the exact language of the proposed regulations, and any document incorporated by 
reference, and of the initial statement of reasons, and all of the information upon which the 
proposal is based, may be obtained at the hearing or prior to the hearing upon request from the 
Contact Person named below. 
 
AVAILABILITY AND LOCATION OF THE FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND 
RULEMAKING FILE 
 
All the information upon which the proposed regulations are based is contained in the 
rulemaking file which is available for public inspection by contacting the person named below. 
 
You may obtain a copy of the final statement of reasons once it has been prepared, by making a 
written request to the contact person named below or by accessing the Web site listed below. 
 
CONTACT PERSON 
 
Inquiries or comments concerning the proposed rulemaking action may be addressed to: 
 
   
  Name:     Kevin Flanagan 
  Address:   2420 Del Paso Road, Suite 100 
     Sacramento, CA 95834 
  Telephone No.:   (916) 575-7100 
  Fax No.:  (916) 928-6810 
  E-Mail Address: Kevin.Flanagan@dca.ca.gov 
 
The backup contact person is: 
 
  Name:     Patricia Garcia 
  Address:   2420 Del Paso Road, Suite 100 
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     Sacramento, CA 95834 
  Telephone No.:   (916) 575-7100 
  Fax No.:  (916) 928-6810 
  E-Mail Address: Patricia.Garcia@dca.ca.gov 
 
 
Website Access:  Materials regarding this proposal can be found at 
http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/laws_regs/prop_regs.shtml 
 
 
 

http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/laws_regs/prop_regs.shtml



