BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY

Division 9, Title 16, of the California Code of Regulations.

SPECIFIC LANGUAGE

LEGEND
Underlined Indicates proposed amendments or additions to the existing
regulation.
Strikeout Indicates proposed deletions to the existing regulation.

. Adopt Section 900, Title 16, California Code of Regulations, as follows:

§ 900. “Establishment.”

Except as otherwise expressly provided, for purposes of this division and the Barbering and
Cosmetology Act (Chapter 10 (commencing with section 7301) of Division 3 of the Business
and Professions Code), “establishment” does not include any offsite premises, building, or
part of a building where a personal service permit (‘PSP”) holder travels to meet a client, if
the only services performed by the PSP holder at that location are authorized pursuant to
section 965.2. A PSP holder’s place of residence or employment, or other space that is
procured by or on behalf of the PSP _holder, is not “offsite” for purposes of this section.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312 and 7402.5, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Sections 7312, 7346, 7350, and 7402.5, Business and Professions Code.

° Adopt Section 965.2, Title 16, California Code of Regulations, as follows:

§ 965.2. Personal Service Permit.

(a) The Board may issue a personal service permit (PSP) authorizing the holder of the
permit to perform certain barbering and cosmetology services outside of a licensed
establishment if the following conditions are met:

(1) The applicant is licensed by the Board and has held a valid license for a
minimum of two consecutive years, or has been licensed in another state and
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is eligible for licensure pursuant to section 7331 of the Business and
Professions Code, as a barber, cosmetologist, esthetician, or manicurist, and
is not subject to denial pursuant to section 480.

(2) The applicant submits via Live Scan a full and complete set of his or her
fingerprints for use in conducting a criminal background check through the
California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
Applicants may be denied a PSP pursuant to Chapter 10 of Division 3 of the
Business and Professions Code, pursuant to Division 1.5 (commencing with
Section 475) of that same code.

(3) The applicant pays an application fee to the Board as provided in Section 998
of these requlations.

(4) The applicant provides proof of current liability insurance in a minimum
amount of $1,000,000.

(b) A PSP holder shall maintain liability insurance in a minimum amount of $1,000,000, and
present proof of liability insurance to the board or its representatives upon demand with
reasonable notice. Failure to present proof of liability insurance to the board or its
representatives may be grounds for discipline and PSP revocation.

(c) The services that may be performed outside of a licensed establishment by a licensed
barber who holds a PSP are as follows:
(1) Shampooing;
(2) Cutting, styling, dressing, arranging, curling and waving hair. These authorized
services do not include singeing, relaxing, or dyeing the hair.
(3) Applying hair tonics;
(4) Applying powders, clays, antiseptics, and oils to the scalp, face or neck;
(5) Trimming the beard.

(d) The services that may be performed outside of a licensed establishment by a licensed
cosmetologist who holds a PSP are as follows:

(1) Shampooing;

(2) Cutting, styling, dressing, arranging, curling and waving hair. These authorized
services do not include singeing, relaxing, or dyeing the hair.

(3) Applying hair tonics;

(4) Applying powders, clays and oils to the scalp, face or neck;

(5) Cleaning, massaging, or stimulating the face and neck by means of the hands with
the use of cleansing agents, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams. This does not
include chemical exfoliation or exfoliation with the use of a tool, machine or device;

(6) Removing hair from the body of any person with tweezers;

(7) Applying make-up or strip lashes;

(8) Buffing and filing nails with non-electrical tools;

(9) Applying and removing nail polish.

(e) The services that may be performed outside of a licensed establishment by a licensed
esthetician who holds a PSP are as follows:
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(1) Cleaning, massaging, or stimulating the face and neck by means of the hands with
the use of cleansing agents, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams. This does not
include chemical exfoliation or exfoliation with the use of a tool, machine or device;

(2) Applying make-up or strip lashes;

(3) Removing hair from the body of any person with tweezers.

(f) The services that may be performed outside of a licensed establishment by a licensed
manicurist who holds a PSP are as follows:

(1) Eiling and buffing of nails by non-electrical tools;
(2) Applying and removing nail polish.

(g) A PSP holder should use disposable tools whenever possible.

(h) A PSP holder shall follow all laws, rules and regulations applicable to the services
rendered.

(i) Upon completion of services outside of a licensed establishment, the holder of a PSP
shall:

(1) Provide the consumer with a Personal Service Permit Consumer Notice (BBC-PSP
(2018)), which is hereby incorporated by reference.

(2) Obtain a signed and dated receipt from the consumer that contains the following
information:
A. The consumer’s acknowledgement of receipt of the Personal Service Permit
Consumer Notice;
B. The consumer’'s name;
C. The consumer’s phone number;
D. The consumer’'s email address, if available
E. Alist of all services rendered to the consumer.
A copy of the receipt shall be provided to the consumer. The PSP holder’s copy of
the receipt shall be presented upon demand with reasonable notice to the board or
its representatives by the PSP holder, and shall be kept on file by the PSP holder
for a period of five (5) years from the date of the service. Failure to present the
receipt of Consumer Notice to the board or its representatives may be grounds for
discipline. The notice and receipt requirements in this section may be satisfied

electronically.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312 and 7402.5, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Sections 7312 and 7402.5, Business and Professions Code.

Amend Section 998, Title 16, California Code of Regulations, as follows:

998. Schedule of Fees.

The following fees shall be charged by the board:
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(a) Barbers:

(1) Preapplication fEe, ..ot e ree e snee s s s 9

(2) Application and examination fee................ccoeeeeeeereeeeeereseseneeeeee e ses e e 75
(3) Initial lICENSE fEE. ...ttt s s e 50
(4) License renewal fEe, ............cococceeeeeereeeseceeeecce ettt se e s 50°
(5) License renewal delinquency fee................ccoeeeeeereeeereeeseseesecsee e, 25'

(b) Cosmetologists:

(1) Preapplication fEe,..............ooeeeceeeeeecceeseeeeeeesc s s ssme e s sssee e s smsnneen 9

(2) Application and examination fee................cceeeeeeeeeeeeeeresesenee e esesese e see e e 75
(3) Initial ICENSE fEE, ...ttt sttt 50
(4) License renewal fEe,.............c.ococcueeeeeereeeseseeseecce et s e s 50°
(5) License renewal delinquency fee................ccoeeeeeeeeeeeneee s s, 25°

(c) Estheticians:

(1) Preapplication fEe, ...t e sn e ene e 9

(2) Application and examination fee................cceeeeeeeereeeeeereseseneeeeee e e 75
(3) Initial ICENSE fEE. ...ttt st 40
(4) License renewal fEe...........ccoceeeeeeeeeeeeeneieseesctee e sesssessessseasssssse s sssasssessesnsanes 50°
(5) License renewal delinquency fee...............cceeeecerereeeeneeeseseesescseesee e s sseeess 25

(d) Manicurists:

(1) Preapplication fEe, ..o ee e s e nnee e ee e 9

(2) Application and examination fee................cceeeeeeeereeeeeceeseseneeeeeee e ses e e 75
(3) Initial lICENSE fEE. ...ttt s s e 35
(4) License renewal fEe............ccocueeeeeeeeeeeeeeseseescsssse s sssssss e s sesssasssesssesssasssesssnsnsanes 50°
(5) License renewal delinquency fee,................ccoeeeeeereeeereeeseseeseecseeee e e ssenans 25"

(e) Electrologists:

(1) Preapplication fEe, ..ot eree e e snee e s s 9

(2) Application and examination fee,................coeeeeeeeeeeeeceeseseneeeeee e ses e e 75
(3) Initial lICENSE fEe. ...ttt s et e e 50
(4) License renewal fEe, ............cococceeeeeereeeseceeeecce ettt se e s 50°
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(5) License renewal delinquency fee 25!

(f) Apprentice application and license fee? 25

(g) Establishments:

(1) Application and initial liICENSE fEE,............c.cceeoeeeeeeeee e et eeeeeereer et eeereeemeeseseeesesaeesneees 50
(2) LiCeNSE rENBWAI TEE, ... .......coeee e e eeeeeesee et eeeseeeeseeeeseeseeseesseseessssneessneesesneeseesnenes 40'
(3) License renewal deliNQUENCY TEE..............ccccoeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesseesessnsseesseseeeseennsens 20°

(h) Mobile Units:

(1) APPIICALION FEE. ...ttt ettt et mnes 50

(2) Initial inspection and license fee,................ccoeeeveeeeeeesereeeeeeeeere e 100
(3) License renewal fEe.............ccoceeeerueeeereneseseeseseese s seesssssse s sssssssesssesnsasssesssnsnsanes 40°
(4) License renewal delinquency fee...............ccoeeeceeereeeeneeeseseesesceesee e s sseness 20"

(i) Personal Service Permit

(1) Initial License fee 25
(3) License renewal fee 10
(3) License renewal delinquency fee 5

1 Fees effective for all licenses expiring on or after December 21, 2007.
2 Licenses of apprentices are not renewable.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7337.5(b) and 7421, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Sections 7402.5, 7415, 7417, 7418, 7419, 7420, 7423, 7424, and 7425, Business
and Professions Code.
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