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      BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY 
Division 9, Title 16, of the California Code of Regulations. 

MODIFIED TEXT 

 
LEGEND 

Underlined Indicates proposed amendments or additions to the existing 
regulation. 

Double Underline Indicates amendments or additions to the originally proposed 
amendments 

Strikeout  Indicates proposed deletions to the existing regulation. 

Double Strikeout Indicates deletions to the originally proposed amendments 

 

•      Adopt Section 900, Title 16, California Code of Regulations, as follows: 

 

 § 900. “Establishment.” 

Except as otherwise expressly provided, for purposes of this division and the 
Barbering and Cosmetology Act (Chapter 10 (commencing with section 7301) of 
Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code), “establishment” does not include 
any offsite premises, building, or part of a building where a personal service permit 
(“PSP”) holder travels to meet a client, if the only services performed by the PSP 
holder at that location are authorized pursuant to section 965.2. A PSP holder’s 
place of residence or employment, or other space that is procured by or on behalf of 
the PSP holder, is not “offsite” for purposes of this section. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312 and 7402.5, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7312, 7346, 7350, and 7402.5, Business and Professions 
Code. 
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•      Adopt Section 965.2, Title 16, California Code of Regulations, as follows: 

 
§ 965.2. Personal Service Permit. 
  
(a) The Board may issue a personal service permit (PSP) authorizing the holder of 

the permit to perform certain barbering and cosmetology services outside of a 
licensed establishment if the following conditions are met: 
 

(1) The applicant is licensed by the Board and has held a valid license for a 
minimum of two consecutive years, or has been licensed in another 
state and is eligible for licensure pursuant to section 7331 of the 
Business and Professions Code, as a barber, cosmetologist, 
esthetician, or manicurist, and is not subject to denial pursuant to 
section 480. 
 

(2) The applicant submits via Live Scan a full and complete set of his or her 
fingerprints for use in conducting a criminal background check through 
the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation. Applicants may be denied a PSP pursuant to Chapter 10 
of Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code, pursuant to 
Division 1.5 (commencing with Section 475) of that same code. 
 

(3) The applicant pays an application fee to the Board as provided in 
Section 998 of these regulations. 

 
(4) The applicant provides proof of current liability insurance in a minimum 

amount of $1,000,000.  
 

(b) A PSP holder shall maintain liability insurance in a minimum amount of 
$1,000,000, and present proof of liability insurance to the board or its 
representatives upon demand with reasonable notice.  Failure to present proof of 
liability insurance to the board or its representatives may be grounds for 
discipline and PSP revocation.   
 

(c) The services that may be performed outside of a licensed establishment by a 
licensed barber who holds a PSP are as follows: 
(1) Shampooing; 
(2) Cutting, styling, dressing, arranging, curling and waving hair. These 

authorized services do not include singeing, relaxing, or dyeing the hair.  
(3) Applying hair tonics;  
(4) Applying powders, clays, antiseptics, and oils to the scalp, face or neck;  
(5) Trimming the beard. 
 

(d) The services that may be performed outside of a licensed establishment by a 
licensed cosmetologist who holds a PSP are as follows: 
 
(1) Shampooing; 
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(2) Cutting, styling, dressing, arranging, curling and waving hair. These 
authorized services do not include singeing, relaxing, or dyeing the hair.  

(3) Applying hair tonics;  
(4) Applying powders, clays and oils to the scalp, face or neck;  
(5) Cleaning, massaging, or stimulating the face and neck by means of the hands 

with the use of cleansing agents, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams. This 
does not include chemical exfoliation or exfoliation with the use of a tool, 
machine or device; 

(6) Removing hair from the body of any person with tweezers; 
(7) Applying make-up or strip lashes;  
(8) Buffing and filing nails with non-electrical tools;  
(9) Applying and removing nail polish. 
 

(e) The services that may be performed outside of a licensed establishment by a 
licensed esthetician who holds a PSP are as follows: 
 
(1) Cleaning, massaging, or stimulating the face and neck by means of the hands 

with the use of cleansing agents, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams. This 
does not include chemical exfoliation or exfoliation with the use of a tool, 
machine or device; 

(2) Applying make-up or strip lashes;  
(3) Removing hair from the body of any person with tweezers.  
 

(f) The services that may be performed outside of a licensed establishment by a 
licensed manicurist who holds a PSP are as follows: 
 
(1) Filing and buffing of nails by non-electrical tools;  
(2) Applying and removing nail polish. 
 

(g) A PSP holder should use disposable tools whenever possible.  
 
(h) A PSP holder shall follow all laws, rules and regulations applicable to the 

services rendered, including but not limited to local laws and regulations. 
 
(i) Upon completion of services outside of a licensed establishment, the holder of a 

PSP shall: 
 
(1) Provide the consumer with a Personal Service Permit Consumer Notice 

(BBC-PSP (2018 2020)), which is hereby incorporated by reference.  
 
(2) Obtain a signed and dated receipt from the consumer that contains the 

following information: 
A. The consumer’s acknowledgement of receipt of the Personal Service 

Permit Consumer Notice; 
B. The consumer’s name; 
C. The consumer’s phone number; 
D. The consumer’s email address, if available 
E. A list of all services rendered to the consumer. 
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A copy of the receipt shall be provided to the consumer. The PSP holder’s 
copy of the receipt shall be presented upon demand with reasonable notice 
to the board or its representatives by the PSP holder, and shall be kept on 
file by the PSP holder for a period of five (5) years from the date of the 
service. Failure to present the receipt of Consumer Notice to the board or its 
representatives may be grounds for discipline. The notice and receipt 
requirements in this section may be satisfied electronically.  

 

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312 and 7402.5, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7312 and 7402.5, Business and Professions Code. 

 
 
Amend Section 998, Title 16, California Code of Regulations, as follows: 

 

 998. Schedule of Fees. 

The following fees shall be charged by the board: 

(a) Barbers: 

(1) Preapplication fee        9 

(2) Application and examination fee       75  

(3) Initial license fee         50 

(4) License renewal fee         501 

(5) License renewal delinquency fee       251 

(b) Cosmetologists: 

(1) Preapplication fee         9 

(2) Application and examination fee       75  

(3) Initial license fee         50 

(4) License renewal fee         501 

(5) License renewal delinquency fee       251 

(c) Estheticians: 

(1) Preapplication fee        9 

(2) Application and examination fee      75  

(3) Initial license fee         40 



 

Page 5 of 6 
 

(4) License renewal fee        501 

(5) License renewal delinquency fee      251 

(d) Manicurists: 

(1) Preapplication fee        9 

(2) Application and examination fee      75  

(3) Initial license fee         35 

(4) License renewal fee        501 

(5) License renewal delinquency fee      251 

(e) Electrologists: 

(1) Preapplication fee        9 

(2) Application and examination fee      75  

(3) Initial license fee         50 

(4) License renewal fee        501 

(5) License renewal delinquency fee      251 

(f) Apprentice application and license fee2      25 

(g) Establishments: 

(1) Application and initial license fee      50 

(2) License renewal fee        401 

(3) License renewal delinquency fee      201 

(h) Mobile Units: 

(1) Application fee         50 

(2) Initial inspection and license fee      100 

(3) License renewal fee        401 

(4) License renewal delinquency fee      201 

 

(i) Personal Service Permit 

(1) Initial License fee        25 
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(32) License renewal fee        10 

(3) License renewal delinquency fee        5 

 

1 Fees effective for all licenses expiring on or after December 21, 2007. 

2 Licenses of apprentices are not renewable. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7337.5(b) and 7421, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 7402.5, 7415, 7417, 7418, 7419, 7420, 7423, 7424, and 
7425, Business and Professions Code. 
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